THE POINT VICENTE LIGHTHOUSE AND…A SURPRISE!!

If you’ve been following PF4A for the past few months, you may remember the blog post about my first photo shoot at the Point Vicente Lighthouse.  As it turned out, it was a cloudy day – even discouraging at first.  But if there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s that I can’t control the weather.  But, I can make adjustments.  And on that day, that’s exactly what I did.  Instead of shooting and processing in color, I converted to a nice sepia that I believe made for a very unique and interesting presentation.  In fact, I liked them very much – that is, until I saw these images!!

:)

On this particular shoot, I decided to go late in the day to capture as much of the dusk colors as possible.  And I was not disappointed!!  It seems the colors were popping on this late afternoon!

In my first image, what I believe to be a double-masted ketch (sailboat) rounded the point midway through the shoot.  What a beautiful vessel!

Then something very unusual caught my eye!  Just out of my frame and to the right, I was drawn to what seemed to be a vapor plume.  My initial glance was too late to catch any activity in the water, but I knew if I waited for a moment I would soon realize if my suspicions were correct.  And they were!  This could mean only one thing!  There was a pod of whales very near the coast!  First one spout, then another.  Watching them for several moments seemed to indicated 3 or maybe 4 whales.  Since they didn’t seem interested in moving, I concluded they must have been either feeding or playing.  (Yes, I could have really used a longer lens!  This shot is the best I could do with my maximum 135mm length)

One last image before I pack up my equipment and move about a half-mile down the coast for a sunset attempt. 

After waving goodbye to the pod of whales and capturing a few sunset shots from a more eastern perspective, it was time for a nice dinner!  Ah, I love it when a “Photo Shoot” comes together!

~ by photographyfree4all on August 29, 2011.

6 Responses to “THE POINT VICENTE LIGHTHOUSE AND…A SURPRISE!!”

  1. Steve, those lighthouse images are so fine, the light is amazing. And then the idyll is interrupted by whales. Wonderful!

  2. Thank you for those kind words, Truels! It was a magnificent shoot in every way. This is really a beautiful area with the colorful cliffs found here! I have a soft spot for lighthouses anyway, so that combination makes this scene stunning!!
    :)

  3. Steve these are lovely! My favorite is the third photo because of the layering of textures from the left of plants, rock, and sea. What makes them especially nice (to my eye) is the colors you captured so late in the day! It reminds me of a Van Gogh painting. ~ Lynda

    PS: Those early morning and late afternoon shots are always special because of the rich lighting and shadowing.

  4. Thank you, Lynda! You’re certainly right about those hours. Sometimes, I fight those early hours – but, I never regret going! :) Good to see you again.

  5. The afternoon light has given the colours a wonderful vibrancy!

  6. Very awesome shots! :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

