CAMERA – Primary Camera

As much as I have enjoyed beginning this journey with my Nikon L110 digital camera, I have made the decision to upgrade.

After hours of painstaking research I have purchased the Canon 50D.

I purchased the body and then chose the Canon EF 28-135 mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM zoom lens.

Canon’s new EOS 50D bridges the gap between the novice and the seasoned pro with a perfect combination of high-speed and quality. It features an APS-C sized 15.1-megapixel CMOS sensor for tremendous images, new DIGIC 4 Image Processor for fine detail and superior color reproduction, and improved ISO capabilities up to 12800 for uncompromised shooting even in the dimmest situations. It features a refined 3.0-inch Clear View LCD (920,000 dots) monitor, supercharged Live View Function with Face Detection Live mode, plus a number of new automatic Image Correction settings and HDMI output for viewing images on an HDTV.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

~ by photographyfree4all on June 16, 2010.

8 Responses to “CAMERA – Primary Camera”

  1. that’s a sweet camera.
    another cool first lens for the canon is the 50 mm sometimes referred to as the “nifty fifty” or “fantastic plastic.” i have had multiple photographers say every person with a canon needs that lens. and you can get them new on amazon for like 100 bucks.

    Like

  2. Congrats – hope it’s a great “next step” for you. Can’t wait to see some of the new shots with it.

    Like

  3. Tim, thanks for your comments on my new camera. You sound like you’re familiar with Canon cameras. I’m hoping you can help me understand something about lenses. Having a 28-135 mm zoom lens, I just thought I wouldn’t need any lens that fell within that range. Am I missing something about lenses. And, what lens do you think I should purchase next? I hope you’ll share your knowledge here so we can all learn. That’s what this blog is really all about. Keep contributing!

    Like

  4. http://keatonandrew.com/blog/archives/43

    that blog post does a pretty good job explaining why you would use a prime.
    alot of reasoning behind different lenses is the different looks one can attain, you can get sharper images with a prime as well as a little bit more control at times with depth of field. and then there are the wide angle lenses such as the fish eye that can provide a different take on an image. the variety in lenses allows a variety in style and results. while one type of lens may be awesome for a majority of things there is almost always a type of lens out there for a more specific reason. just my 2 cents from what i have read of heard from some different photographers at my store.

    Like

  5. Thanks for your $.02, Tim. I actually thought it was worth more! This makes me start to think about my first “prime” lens purchase.

    Like

  6. Hello! I suggest also buying a prime lens, but this time the 105mm macro from Sigma. Great macro lens at a great price…and the one I should have bought instead of the 50mm macro!

    Like

  7. Sweet camera! (nikon also has great camera’s too though)

    Like

  8. I’m a sucker for lots of colour! (or color as you guys south of the border spell it!) There are some fantastic cameras out there. I used to say it’s all in the lenses. Now I guess you have to say it’s all in the lenses, sensors, and processors!
    Nice pics.
    To Phil, what is it about the 105 you like? What do you shoot?

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
