PHOTOGRAPHING CALIFORNIA FLORAL – Photography Tip #2

I’ve always said, there’s no place on earth that compares to the flora variations in California.

When I began my journey into photography, I looked over a field of flowers and thought, how beautiful!  So, I began to photograph these large fields of flowers:

copyright 2010

copyright 2010

Even though they were very beautiful, I began to realize most of my photos appeared too busy for my liking.  I wondered if it would be better to focus on single flowers with the idea of providing much more detail and color.

So, I began to photograph single flower blooms:

#1 – The Naked Coral Tree bloom

copyright 2010

Capturing a honey bee in the frame with a beautiful flower is an unexpected bonus.

#2

copyright 2010

#3 – The Bird of Paradise bloom

copyright 2010

This common seed pod looks almost as if it’s been plugged into an electrical socket.

#4

copyright 2010

#5

copyright 2010

#6

copyright 2010

#7 – The Pin Cushion bloom

copyright 2010

#8

copyright 2010

#9

copyright 2010

#10

copyright 2010

Wouldn’t it be nice if every flower bloom came with an information tag?  Who do I need to talk to about that?  I’ve listed some of the names, but need you to help me with the others.

With that in mind, I’m asking you to get into the Google Encyclopedia (or whatever source you may choose) and submit a comment with the names of the remaining blooms/seed pods.

Let me take a moment to encourage you to click the link in the upper right section of my blog to subscribe.  Subscribers will receive update notifications about my photographic journey.

Thanks for stopping by.

All photography is original and falls under the protection and copyright of this blog

~ by photographyfree4all on June 17, 2010.

2 Responses to “PHOTOGRAPHING CALIFORNIA FLORAL – Photography Tip #2”

  1. #4 is definitely a dandelion! 🙂

    Like

  2. #8 is some type of hydrangea 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
