PIECES OF HISTORY – Timeless Classic Cars

There will never be another time in history when the American automobile held such supremacy as the classic era from the ’40’s – ’60’s.  Seriously, try to find another time when every major band performed a song about a car: Fun Fun Fun, Little Deuce Coupe, and Pink Cadillac to name only a few.  It was definitely a special time!

A few weeks ago I happened upon a small car show in Huntington Beach, California.  I’ve been promising to post some of the photos, but couldn’t decide the best way to present what I shot.

I finally chose a somewhat contemporary display, cropping most of the photos to give you only pieces of what was actually there that early morning.

copyright 2010

copyright 2010

copyright 2010

copyright 2010

copyright 2010

copyright 2010

copyright 2010

copyright 2010

copyright 2010

As I turned, I noticed this classic making his getaway.

copyright 2010

For many of you this may have stirred a memory of a “first car” or a “car you wish you still owned.”  For me, it was both!  It always is!

My first car was a red 1959 Pontiac Bonneville.  I think I could have put my entire senior class into that car…it was huge!  But the car I wish I still owned…a 1957 Ford Fairlane, fully restored (by myself and a high school friend)…it was SWEET!!  In my hometown there was really only one ’57 Ford…and it was mine!

Can you name any of the cars in the photos?  Share your memories by posting a comment to share with everyone.

I almost forgot, there’s a special appearance by someone in one of the photos.  Can you find it?

Check back soon and often.  Where will I be this week?  Rest assured, wherever it is…there will be pictures!

All photography is original and falls under the protection and copyright of this blog

~ by photographyfree4all on June 20, 2010.

4 Responses to “PIECES OF HISTORY – Timeless Classic Cars”

  1. the special appearance is YOU, right? …in a reflection of the black car (I have no idea what kind of car it is…a little before my time 🙂

    Like

  2. ’59 Pontiac Bonneville – smooth ride and a sweet red it was for sure! Great memories, but the ’57 Ford was a classic – just like you!

    Like

  3. Great shots. Love the vibrance of color and of course the perspective. Good luck.

    Like

  4. LOL! Yes, it’s me in the 5th piture! I was so taken by the beauty of the classic cars, I committed the unforgiving photographer’s blunder of allowing my reflection to unknowingly appear in the shot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
