FILL THE FRAME – Photography Tip #3

A striking composition can be achieved by standing directly over the top of your flowers and zooming in to entirely fill the frame.  By focusing on the color, texture, and detail of your flowers, you can create an abstract and dramatic photograph.

When I began to photograph flowers, this is how I chose to present the subject.  Most people commonly zoom in and center the bloom in the frame, as I have done here.  It’s a nice shot, but is there a way to create a photograph that is more dramatic?  You be the judge.

copyright 2010

In this shot I chose to zoom in and fill the entire frame with the bloom.  As you can see, it’s a much more vivid presentation.  However as dramatic as this has become, could I go one step further in an attempt to actually create a piece of art?

copyright 2010

In my attempt to further enhance the photograph, I started with the full-frame shot and muted the color in order to soften the appearance.  This creates a completely different presentation – still very dramatic, but softer, more abstract…even art-like. I could definitely see a very large framed print of this shot becoming the dramatic focal point of a formal living area.

copyright 2010

Finally, I started with the original full-frame shot and further muted the colors while blurring the edges.  This softens the presentation even more allowing you to now use the photograph as a background with the idea of creating a romantic card.  A personal creation is always better than a Hallmark.

copyright 2010

In the second series of photographs, you’ll see that by using a very different subject you can achieve a likewise very different result.

The first photograph in this series is another common shot from directly above the dandelion seed pod.  Nice, but somewhat ordinary.

copyright 2010

In this shot, I zoomed in to what tends to be the normal presentation.  The seed pod is center displayed, but still allowing the surrounding plant to create the background.  Honestly, it appears that someone has plugged this dandelion into an electrical outlet.  Because the lighting aspect of this shot is so amazing, it lends itself to become something spectacular with the full-frame presentation.

copyright 2010

LOOK AT THIS SHOT!!  Doesn’t it just seem to explode onto your screen?  Now you have something that is dramatic.  Something that is very abstract – yet, amazing in its detail!  A photograph that will demand attention!

copyright 2010

Don’t be afraid to meander “outside the box” of what is common.  Always photograph with the idea of creating something that is striking!  After all, one of the great beauties of a digital camera is that you can always delete and start over if you’re unhappy with the result.

Remember, for photographs you’ve already shot, you can also create a similar effect with the cropping tool in your photo manager software.

However you choose to accomplish this effect – give it a try.  You may be surprised at what you achieve.

All photography is original and falls under the protection and copyright of this blog

~ by photographyfree4all on June 22, 2010.

7 Responses to “FILL THE FRAME – Photography Tip #3”

  1. great lessons for the beginner — thanks! I especially love the explosive dandelion.

    Like

  2. I think the dandelion looks like a bunch of sparklers on the 4th of July! Filling the frame is a good effect, but in these two instances, I prefer the dandelion shot over the roses.

    Like

  3. Wow!!!! You were able to turn the ordinary into something outstandingly beautiful. I liked the middle shot of the dandelion the best!
    Thanks for the tips.

    Like

  4. Beautiful photos, clearly stunning and unique.

    Like

  5. […] like that first photo more than I initially thought.  My next photo mission is to try this out: Fill the frame.  I’m very much a fan of macro photography; not long ago, I actually got to the point where […]

    Like

  6. Great tips, thank you! I have actually dedicated my blog post for today to this post, I hope you don’t mind. I am going to try it out tomorrow, hopefully!

    Like

  7. Oh, I didn’t realise my blog post actually showed up here when I linked to this post!

    I tried it out today but my camera wouldn’t focus when it was that close to the subject (flower, in this case). However, I’ve just realised in this post you say that you zoom in to the flower as opposed to positioning the camera directly in front of the flower – have I understood correctly this time? Thanks! (I think I’ve written too much here, sorry!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
