THE MIND OF A PHOTOGRAPHER

It was a lovely morning (or should I say night?) even at 4:00 AM. I would find myself driving nearly an hour into the mountains, arriving at my destination only to wait, and move from one position to another experimenting with various perspectives. What causes one to do such a thing? It’s what you do to capture a sunrise…

My first position is possibly my best. This shot has a rather surreal effect with the pre-dawn glow cast over the lake, beautifully silhouetting the mountains against the early morning sky.

© copyright 2010

For my next shot I decided to change my perspective minimally to include more of the brush in the foreground. And, I wondered if lighting the foreground would make a distinctive effect.

© copyright 2010

For this shot, I decided not to light the foreground. But, now I’ve lost that pre-dawn glow which creates a monochromatic effect. The mysterious movement of the water is most evident in this serene shot.

© copyright 2010

One thing about a sunrise, once it begins it happens very quickly. Making another spectacular entrance, the sun in all its splendor puts an end to this shoot. It’s time for breakfast.

© copyright 2010

I’m not sure one can truly understand the mind of a photographer. It’s that passion to capture a scene that can never be described by words. How would you describe a sunrise to someone who had never seen one? There’s really only one way – you have to show them!

All photography is original and falls under the protection and copyright of this blog

~ by photographyfree4all on July 6, 2010.

28 Responses to “THE MIND OF A PHOTOGRAPHER”

  1. Loving that lemon yellow in the first shot; sometimes it is almost difficult to believe the intensity of the colours that exist in nature!

    Like

  2. Gorgeous. And lovely to see your mind at work and to see why the first one works the best.

    Like

  3. The first and last are the best. The 2nd having lit the foreground takes away from the long shot. The 3rd has too much plant obscuring the lake. Nice work!
    I really like the layout of your site – all the black really makes the photos pop out.
    Also, you might want to check out the Canon forum. I just joined and it seems that it will be really helpful for things like comments, advice, etc., from other photogs. http://photography-on-the.net/ and also check their forum (and register).

    Like

  4. It’s amazing how with different focuses and whatnot, the same scene looks so different. I love how the water looks in all four pictures!

    Like

  5. your last two shots are the best by far, I like the darkened plants in the foreground and the bottom with added color and hint of sun is also a nice contrast.

    Like

  6. These are amazing shots! The skies look so great!

    Like

  7. This was fascinating to view. I do the same thing with sunrises (and sunsets), taking many different shots trying to capture it in different ways. I think this is the first time I’ve seen the process through another person’s eyes/lens.

    The first and last are my favorites. I especially like the framing of the last one that includes the bush with the yellow flowers.

    Like

  8. Wow–these are absolutely beautiful shots. It’s amazing how different each one is–and the only variable is lighting. I HAVE to find a sunrise spot. Thanks again, for all of this inspiration.

    Heather

    Like

  9. Beautiful series of photographs! I love sunrises and sunsets. 🙂

    I look forward to seeing more of your work.

    Like

  10. So glad I dropped in! I subscribed to the blog and I think I can learn things here. I currently use a Canon s5 IS. It’s not much but I get some fun shots.

    Like

  11. Well done! Lovely shots. Thanks for your comment on my blog 🙂

    Like

  12. Beautiful sunrise… a photographer’s mind is an abyss of never ending imaginations. That’s why no one can ever truely understands.

    Like

  13. They are all great shots in their own right. But if I have to choose a favorite it will be the third one. I think that pic is the most balanced of the lot. Great composition too.

    Like

  14. I agree with Wiepkjen. I think the 3d shot is by FAR the best shot. The bushes are not chopped off, which is otherwise distracting, they are off to the left, where the eye naturally comes into the photograph, they are in silhouette, so as not to detract from the mnts and the lake, and they add to the overall composition. The third shot is outstanding!

    You have some incredible work here, and I love the way you explain your process. Reminds me of lesliepaints.wordpress.com. If you don’t know her, you should.

    Like

  15. It is funny how we do this! I find that the first few shots are usually the best.. but every now and then shot #20 pulls through haha

    Lovely shots 🙂

    Like

  16. these are beautiful!

    Like

  17. good job,awesome…

    Like

  18. You’re right! In nature, it’s a moment in which you are actually dancing with nature. In public it takes a bit of self-confidence to do that dance in a crowd.

    Like

  19. I think the 3rd one is the absolute best. The bushes are juxposed a little to the left and the lighting is right on. Great shot.

    Like

  20. I love this…. and relate so so much.

    The shots are beautiful.

    Like

  21. Try using a flashlight (tungsten bulb) to light the foreground rather than flash. It shouldn’t affect the ambient exposure, and the light will be yellow-orange, so will look a bit more natural. It’s a little unpredictable, so take lots of shots!

    Like

  22. […] WORKING IN MONOCHROME Last summer I drove into the mountains to photograph the sunrise at Silverwood Lake.  If you’re interested in seeing a few of those shots taken very early in my photographic journey, you can click here. […]

    Like

  23. Awssome photos! WOW!

    Like

  24. Thanks, barb! I’m glad you stopped by and caugtht some of these posts.

    Like

  25. Simply amazing shots here! You’ve really managed to convey the beauty of this morning landscape! I particularly like third down.

    Like

  26. I’m so glad you linked back to this post. These are beautiful – the third one is breathtaking.

    Like

  27. Thanks, Kai! It was really a fun morning, even though it began around 3:30 AM!

    Like

  28. I’m glad you looked back at that previous post, too! Thanks for leaving this comment, Dawn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
