DINNER IS SERVED

In life, there is a fundamental need to eat.  As you will see in these photos, the Brown Pelican (Pelecanus Occidentalis) works very hard for his dinner.  On a recent visit to Long Beach, I was able to capture the very unusual hunting process.

The Brown Pelican has a keen sense of sight that allows him to locate his prey from up to 20 feet above the water.  When he begins to glide, the hunt is over and the strike is near.

© copyright 2010

After a quick ascent for speed, he makes a loop and begins his dive.

© copyright 2010

Wings spread for precise targeting, he continues to accelerate through the dive.

© copyright 2010

Completing his loop and locked on to his target, the pelican reaches his top speed just before entering the water.

© copyright 2010

Milliseconds from the strike, the Brown Pelican makes his final dive preparations by contracting his wings.

© copyright 2010

Watch closely – if you blink, you’ll miss it.  Oh…you must have blinked!

© copyright 2010

Thankfully, my hunt for dinner involved a grocery store, a fresh-cut tri-tip, and a BBQ grill.

I’ll see you tomorrow – I’ve been attempting night photography…again.  I refuse to give up!

All photography is original and falls under the protection and copyright of this blog

~ by photographyfree4all on July 7, 2010.

11 Responses to “DINNER IS SERVED”

  1. Shucks–every time I went back I kept blinking!

    Like

  2. Fantastic shots! Pelicans are such beautiful birds, and wonderfully graceful…

    Like

  3. Pelicans! I’m glad I don’t have to fish for my own meals 😀

    Like

  4. Great series of shots. Reminds me of watching these birds hunt in Florida years ago.

    Like

  5. I presume he came up w/ a full pouch. Did you Do this on multi-shot (I presume)? No one has a finger that fast. Good sharp and tight focus. Nice series.

    Like

  6. He did come up with a full pouch. It’s interesting to watch the seagulls try to steal the catch while the pelican is draining his pouch so he can swallow. I was using a fast multi-shot setting. Thanks for the comment.

    Like

  7. Wow, great series!

    Like

  8. These are great shots! Some animals/birds are amazing in their natural habitat! I enjoy your blog.

    Like

  9. love these… I too tried capturing few but my camera’s zoom isnt as powerful… =)

    Lovely shots!

    Like

  10. What a fine series! Thanks for stopping by, I hope to find the time to come back, you have some fabulous photos.
    – about those flower photos, they cry when you don’t shoot them 😉

    Like

  11. Cool shots. Nice job capturing this

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
