THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA

What’s your story? That’s what I always wonder when I see someone sitting – alone, with the tracks of time seemingly etched into their face.  

  

© 2010  

I photographed this gentleman several minutes before he noticed me. I was shooting so many things in every direction that he didn’t pay any attention to me – or so I thought. After a few minutes, he smiled and said, “It’s OK if you want to take my picture – you’re not the first, you know.”  

  

© 2010  

As it turns out, he’s actually posed for several nautical themed paintings by numerous artists. After looking closely, I thought – I knew you looked familiar! 

Everyone has a story – what’s yours? Thanks for stopping by.  I’ll see you tomorrow. 

All photography is original and falls under the protection and copyright of this blog

~ by photographyfree4all on July 19, 2010.

16 Responses to “THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA”

  1. Nice, I was looking for something similar recently for that DP Review challenge of the same title 🙂 never found it.
    Love the top one, looks taken straight from the Hemmingway novel.

    Like

  2. I agree, he looks like he jumped out of the novel. Great shots and great story! I’m sure his story goes deeper than we can imagine.

    Like

  3. Classic looking character

    Like

  4. Hey! I followed the link from the comment you posted on my blog, and I’ve really enjoyed browsing through your pictures. It’s funny because my Mom is a painter, and she has painted a captain/seaman who looks just like this guy! I love his expression in that first shot.

    Like

  5. He looks like he’s sailed around the world a few times, doesn’t he?

    Like

  6. Very nice shots–he looks like Captain Highliner. I’m intrigued by ‘people’ pictures–so far I’ve mostly been sticking to pets and outdoor stuff, but this is inspiring me. I think I’d be a little shy, though, to snap complete strangers–I’ll have to start with people I know, I guess.

    Like

  7. I like that first portrait. It’s a great character study. A long zoom is great for candid shots, except that you’re not exactly blending in with the woodwork when you’re carrying around a big dslr kit… 🙂

    Like

  8. I wonder how many times someone has stopped to ask him if he’s related to Hemingway? Great portrait study!

    Like

  9. Awesome composition to these images, this guys face speaks volumes. You have real talent here, I love the vibrancy of your images (in all posts, not just this), I can learn a lot from looking at your photos.

    Great stuff, keep it up.

    Like

  10. […] post by photographyfree4all reminded me to write about this wax encaustic painting I completed recently. […]

    Like

  11. I am enjoying looking at your pictures, I used to do some photography myself back in the day, so I can appreciate great work! I will follow so I can get updates!

    Like

  12. He does look just like the typical sort of man at sea!

    Like

  13. Great photo of an interesting character. Perhaps he modeled for my grandfather’s chalk drawing: http://lh4.ggpht.com/_TyLSJSd6o_U/SG10OWGBPnI/AAAAAAAAFTs/agms4nDBzvA/s800/008.jpg

    Maybe not, though, since that drawing was made about 40 years ago and the man you photographed would have just been a “middle aged man and the sea.”

    Like

  14. Cool pictures and a great subject 🙂

    Like

  15. Thanks for these portraits, he looks like a nice guy! I wish I could be better shooting portraits myself….

    Like

  16. […] post by photographyfree4all reminded me to write about this wax encaustic painting I completed recently. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
