A FAREWELL TO “RED”

I was introduced to “Red” a few weeks ago and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed our meetings over that time.  I learned a lot about “Red.”  For instance, he’s a Flame Skimmer Dragonfly who is native to the southwestern United States.  They tend to be flighty.  Yet for some unexplained reason, “Red” became comfortable around me, even though I was snapping hundreds of pictures.  There were times when he would pose for me and actually allow me to be close enough to touch him.  Once, he even landed on my hand.  Magically, he seemed to lose his fear of me over time.

In my last post, I mentioned a change in “Red.”  More about that in a moment.

I thought I would share a shot of the area “Red” calls home.  He has some wonderful neighbors.

© 2010

Remember when I said “Red” was trying to tell me something?  Well, he was excited for me to meet someone…”Mrs. Red!”  Unfortunately, she was having nothing to do with me.  Maybe she was just shy.  Even though “Red” would come close to me and make every attempt to bring her over to me – she would never become as trusting as he. 

Since she was determined to remain in flight, I had to capture her from afar and in motion.  “Mrs. Red” is on the left.  “Red” is on the right.

© 2010

While making several attempts to capture “Mrs. Red” I noticed this bloom as it came into my frame.  I had to snap it while I was hoping for a better shot.

© 2010

Why was “Mrs. Red” so flighty?  Well if you haven’t guessed by now, she was scouting for a safe place to lay her eggs.  That’s right, there’s going to be “Little Reds” at some point in the future! 

If you notice the rippling of the water, it was created when “Mrs. Red” would dive into the water to lay her eggs.  This pattern continued for several minutes.

© 2010

Just before they flew away together, I captured this shot of “Red” as he came so close as if to say, “Let me pose for you one more time – after all, I’m going to be a proud papa!”  I think this may be my favorite shot.  The color is amazing!

© 2010

I’ve seen “Red” a few times since this day.  He still flies right up to me and perches next to where I’m sitting. 

A few weeks ago, I met “Red.”  I’m glad I did.  If you would like to read the entire story of “Red” you can check out my posts: “I Met a Dragonfly Today” from 7/13/10, and “Seeing Red” from 7/16/10.

As always, thanks for stopping by.  I’ll see you tomorrow.

All photography is original and falls under the protection and copyright of this blog

~ by photographyfree4all on July 20, 2010.

33 Responses to “A FAREWELL TO “RED””

  1. That is awesome that you can track the same insect. There is a large praying mantis in my bushes that I have been able to take macros of several times. I’m really surprised about the dragonfly though, so cool.

    Like

  2. Nice job! I think that pic of “Red” is my fav too – best background of the bunch, and the highlights are nicely detailed. Very good job on that one 🙂

    Like

  3. I love it when we take a moment to make a connection with the natural world, it never fails to impress.

    P.S I wish I had a dragonfly friend, its too cool.

    Like

  4. Oh, wow–these pictures are absolutely beautiful, and I had no idea dragonflies laid eggs this way. Is this true? Do they actually even pair up like this? Great stuff! Thanks for taking us along for the ride.

    Heather

    Like

  5. The Flame Skimmer Dragonfly does lay their eggs in this manner. However, the female will usually fly away from the male to lay her eggs. That was not the case here, though. Red was there the whole time. Interesting to say the least.

    Like

  6. I’m going to miss Red, but I like it when loves wins out. Finding Mrs. Red was a priority for Red and it kind of makes the story complete for me. Thanks for the journey with Red. 🙂

    Like

  7. Great posts! I’m intrigued by this story. The photography is amazing! Thanks for sharing this experience with us.

    Like

  8. The turtles are fantastic – and that last photo of “Red” is amazing!!!

    Like

  9. Your images are amazing. But I think I love the story of you and Red much more. It reminded me of an encounter with a tiny skink. Wow. Thank you.

    Like

  10. nice capture of the ripples 🙂

    Like

  11. The photos are wonderful as is the story.

    Like

  12. Nice post and pictures

    Like

  13. Love the ripples on the water. 😉

    Like

  14. Your photography is brilliant!! And I like the story of “Red”

    Like

  15. That last photo is amazing! Love all of your work…

    Like

  16. I love your photography and your blog. I dropped in after your thoughtful comments over at my (feeble in comparison) photoblog. I now have much to aspire to 🙂

    Like

  17. the contrast between the primary colors in the last photo are fantastic and halp elevate it from typical wildlife shot to near-abstract art. well captured

    Like

  18. What a lovely story. I enjoyed reading and seeing photos about your encounters with Red… thanks for sharing.

    Like

  19. really like this. it almost looks abstract and the colors are just stunning.

    Like

  20. love this! nice photos!

    Like

  21. Great story, man. You amuse me.
    Oh, and the photography is great, too!

    Like

  22. That last shot is gorgeous – the whole series is a wonderful story. I have a feeling you’ll be nearby when the little Reds spring out of the water too, and I’m looking forward to it.

    Like

  23. So glad to see that Red finally met a good woman and is settling down. Perhaps he will invite you over for tea and coffee one day to meet the little ones.

    Like

  24. Glorious pictures!

    Like

  25. Such a nice dragonfly-love story! Hope you get to take photos of the baby Reds.

    Like

  26. I love that turtle photo, very stunning. And of course, that close up of Red is gorgeous!
    Thank you so much for your comment on my blog. Your photography is fabulous, so it is quite an honor to receive a compliment from you.

    Like

  27. Nice photos. The last one, in particular, is spectacular!

    Like

  28. I love that picture with the terrapins, it’s amazing, well done!

    Like

  29. […] here, here, and here to read the story of […]

    Like

  30. Am posting comments so that you know I have indeed read Red’s story. Odd, isn’t it that it seems important to let you know this. Have no idea why. Love your photographs connected to Red.

    Like

  31. Thanks for all of your comments, 47. I feel honored that you took the time to read the history of Red. It was indeed a special time and provided some spectacular shots. I’ve never experienced a dragonfly so calm – ever. Let alone around people. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  32. What a great story!

    Like

  33. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a very nice comment, Barb. I hope you’ll come by again, soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
