ARE THERE ANY CHICKS IN BIG BEAR? YES!

Oh, sorry if you misunderstood my headline.  But, this post is about chicks.  Sidebar: I would never use this terminology to describe any group other than birds.  After all, I’m a gentleman.

While relaxing on the deck one morning in Big Bear, I noticed several robins settling into one of the nearby trees.  Always having my camera nearby, I snapped a couple of shots before they flew away.

This one happened to glance back at me as if to say, “What’s with the stare?  Have you never seen a robin before?”

Later that evening, I discovered this nest in the rafters.

I happened upon the nest while the mother was away gathering food.  Even with mom absent, the chicks would stretch their necks, lifting their heads as they waited for mom to deposit her catch into their gaping beaks.  When she did arrive, she froze at the sight of me.  Holding the catch in her beak, she refuses the chirping of her chicks while assessing my presence .

After several minutes of an intense stare down, very slowly and deliberately she would feed each chick, never taking her eye off me.

When she finished, she refused to leave for more food until I had gone.  She did not trust me and continued to stare at my every move until finally I left.  It’s easy to see by the actions of this chick that dinner was not over, just delayed until the intruder was gone.

Thanks for stopping by.  If you would like to subscribe to this blog, simply click on the link in the upper right corner.  It’s free!!

~ by photographyfree4all on August 4, 2010.

13 Responses to “ARE THERE ANY CHICKS IN BIG BEAR? YES!”

  1. Great pics, especially the very first one! Amazingly clear shot of the bird!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the compliment, photobyholly. I was somewhat fortunate to be able to get the clear shot through the branches. I wasn’t as lucky with the other birds. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  3. The robin is giving you that look ’cause you just called her a chick! Great photos, the first one is amazing! And good job capturing the babies!

    Like

  4. HAHAHA! That’s a great comment, fraukuech! Actually though, the “chick” terminology refers to her babies. Thanks for the compliments! I hope you’ll visit again.

    Like

  5. Great pictures. Robins are everywhere around here, and I’ve seen nests and empty shells–but never a chick. Funny. They must really take care to hide away safely.

    Heather

    Like

  6. Mother’s love is very strong and will protect their young at all costs… Great capture! I enjoy reading your story telling style and seeing the photos that goes with it.

    Like

  7. Thanks for the nice words, Heather. We never see robins here, except in the mountains. Emily, thanks for your kind words about my writing. I’ve been away from writing for a while. It feels good to have that outlet of expression again.

    Like

  8. Nice sequence of shots here. I have been watching a pair of nesting Eagles and their offspring. Unfortunately I don’t have the glass that will reach them. These are well done. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  9. Thanks for your kind words David. Too bad about the eagles. That would be an amazing shoot!

    Like

  10. This is great!
    Robins can be intense.. I once got a serious ‘chirping to’ when I got too close to a nest.
    They are very protective birds!

    Like

  11. How great to get pictures of chicks and feeding time! We have TONS of robins around here but I’ve never managed to see babies in a nest.

    Like

  12. […] walking through the neighboorhoods to view the various birds and wildlife living in the area (click here and here to […]

    Like

  13. Wow–those bird shots are amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
