FROM THE LIPS OF A ONE-PIG-TAILED LITTLE GIRL

Sometimes, my sweetest conversations are with a one-pig-tailed little girl, named Eliana.  One of our more recent ones is pictured below.  They say a picture is worth a thousand words.  After this series of shots, could there be any doubt? 

Please allow me to set the stage.  I’ve gone outside to get things ready for an upcoming bike ride, when Eliana makes her way to the screen door to watch.

ELIANA: Pampaw, ow?  (Translation: Grandpa, can I come outside with you?)

ME: Not right now, Sweetie.  Grandpa’s loading the bikes on the car for our bike ride.

ELIANA: Pampaw, me?  (Translation: Grandpa, can I come outside and help you put the bikes on the car?  I’m so sad in here.)

ME: That’s a great idea, Elli!

ME: But, I’ve just finished.

ELIANA: Ow, pampaw?  You, pampaw?  (Translation: Can I come outside with you now, grandpa?  I want to be with you, grandpa!)

ME: Wait just a minute.  I’m almost finished tying down the bikes.

ELIANA: Pleeeee…pampaw…pleeeee!  (Translation: Please, can I come outside with you grandpa?  Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease?)

ME: EL-I-AN-A…EL-I-AN-A!  (As I approach the door where she’s standing)  OK.  Let’s go take some pictures.

ELIANA: Yeth.  (Translation: Yes!)

ME: Elli, Look!  It’s an Acorn Woodpecker.  Can you see him?

ELIANA: Bir.  (Translation: Bird) 

ME: Eliana, did you know the Acorn Woodpecker drills deep holes into these trees and packs acorns very tightly inside these holes so that squirrels can’t steal them?  Look closely.  You can see some of the holes are filled.

ELIANA: Bir…  (Translation: None needed.)

So, you can have your “deep intellectual” conversations and thoughts.  I’ll take this one any day!!

Thanks for stopping by.  I’ll see you tomorrow.

~ by photographyfree4all on August 9, 2010.

40 Responses to “FROM THE LIPS OF A ONE-PIG-TAILED LITTLE GIRL”

  1. Love the second shot there, very expressive and the mesh shows nicely, and I love the last Woodpecker shot! perfect!

    Like

  2. Thanks for your kind words, themichaellamcollection. That second shot is indeed speaking a thousand words and emotions, isn’t it? Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  3. Very cute photos. I also like that last picture of the Acorn Woodpwcker.
    Bob

    Like

  4. this little girl is SO adorable! Of course, I’m just a little biased 🙂

    Like

  5. These are amazing photos and dialogue – you’re a master with both the lens and the pen!
    It’s my first visit and I found you via Patty.
    I’ve signed up to get your future posts and hope I can pick up on your artists eye!

    Like

  6. Ahhhhhhhh…………. You pampaw, best world. (Translation: You sound like the best pampaw in the world.) 🙂

    What a heartwarming post, and what endearing photos. Thanks for being so uplifting.

    Heather

    Like

  7. Thanks for the kind words, Heather. Your comments are very encouraging. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  8. You should be a little biased, Elizabeth! Elizabeth is Elli’s Mommy! You can check out her blog at http://thethomas4.wordpress.com/

    Like

  9. Shane, you are too kind! Thank you so much for your comment. And, thanks for subscribing to my blog.

    Like

  10. Thanks for your comment, Bonzeller! Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  11. Great photos and dialogue. I agree that the simple stuff is most often the best stuff. 🙂

    Like

  12. How utterly precious, and now documented for posterity, love it!

    Like

  13. I love that it’s obvious your family plays an important role in your life. Thanks for sharing. All the shots are great – Elli is adorable but I would have guessed that to be a red-headed woodpecker! Hmmmm…..learned something new today. 🙂

    Like

  14. LOVE these photos of your granddaughter!! She is such a doll and you really captured her essence!

    Like

  15. You’re right, Car54! Thanks for your kind comment. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  16. We agree, Bob, on the simple things in life. They don’t cost anything and are often found very nearby. Thanks for your comment and for stopping by.

    Like

  17. I absolutely love this dialogue! Thanks for giving us a peek into your personal life! The shots are great – the expressions are wonderful!

    Like

  18. Thanks for your comment, Chad. I really thought the shots were special, too. I hope you’ll stop by again.

    Like

  19. Thank you for your compliment in your comment, Nell. I hope you’ll visit again, soon.

    Like

  20. just lovely… both granddaughter and bird…..heheh…those moments are special.

    Like

  21. Thanks for your comment pixilated2. I’m glad you stopped by.

    Like

  22. Those moments are special, realme07! Thanks for your nice comment. I hope you’ll stop by again.

    Like

  23. Thanks, u made me smile. She is so cute

    Like

  24. She’s absolutely adorable! Great photography never fails to inspire me to become better! Thanks for sharing your gift! Take care!

    Like

  25. I loved this blog post! Your translated conversation was adorable. I didn’t know you were a grandfather. Is one-pig-tailed girl your first?

    Like

  26. Thanks for your comment, Nesh. It’s always good to make one smile. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  27. Thanks for your kind words, Karma. I actually have four grandchildren. I hope you’ll stop by again.

    Like

  28. Absolutely adorable. I love, love, love the shot of her with her face pressed up against the screen!

    Like

  29. First, thank you for stopping by my blog and leading me to yours!

    Second, this story made me smile BIG! The dialogue is precious and so is yoru granddaughter. That image of her with her faced smooshed up against the screen is priceless!

    Third, nice woodpecker shots, too. 🙂

    Like

  30. This is so adorable! I have a toddler myself and adore their little language. The photo of her face smashed against the screen is a classic 🙂

    Like

  31. Thanks for your comment, greeneyedgirl. I did really like that shot! I hope you’ll stop by again.

    Like

  32. Thanks, Sapphire! I agree with you comment about great photography. I hope you’ll stop by again.

    Like

  33. Thanks for your kind words, milkayphoto. Please, stop by again.

    Like

  34. All your photos are amazing! Your grandaughter is so cute…the trees, the woodpecker…love them all!

    Like

  35. Thanks for stopping by, Mary. You kind words are such an encouragement to me. I hope you’ll visit again, soon. I must agree with your comment about my granddaughter! Thanks.

    Like

  36. That was a very sweet blog to read and your grandaughter is so prescious. Thanks for sharing that and your photos are beautiful.
    Have a good day…Aloha

    Like

  37. Wait, so you actually had your camera on you while you were loading the bikes? The shots of your granddaughter are just adorable. The faces she makes are just delightful…so expressive.

    Like

  38. I actually had my camera in the car ready to go with us on the bike ride. When I saw her and started talking with her through the screen door, I knew I had to grab it and start shooting. Thanks for your comment and for stopping by!

    Like

  39. Love it, what a sweet face. My heart melted when I saw her nose smushed up against the screen! Thanks for the script to go along with the photos, what an adorable conversation!
    You have beautiful photos all over this blog!

    Like

  40. Thank you for stopping by and leavng a comment, linz! This was such a cute moment in time. I hope you’ll come back, soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
