IT’S AS EASY AS RIDING A BIKE

When I was 4 years old, I received my first bike from my parents.  I’ll never forget my dad running along beside me as I wobbled through the yard peddling as hard as I could.  Training wheels?  I’m sure they existed, but there were none with this bicycle!  But, I felt safe because I knew if at some point I lost my balance, my dad would be there to catch me.  I was safe.  Safe, that is, until I turned around and saw my dad standing next to the house waving and smiling.  WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I DON’T KNOW HOW TO RIDE A BIKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Less than an hour after I first mounted that bike, I was riding around the yard and even venturing into the driveway and ultimately, our street (which was never busy).  From that day on, I went everywhere on my bike. 

For several years of my adult life, riding a bike never entered my mind.  I was busy.  I needed to get where I was going as quickly as possible.  I had no time for bike riding now.  No time, until one day my wife wondered if buying bikes would be fun.  Even though I wasn’t completely sold on the idea, I went along with it at the time.

Of course, living in Southern California meant we had to buy beach cruisers!  I know, I know, some will think cruisers limit where you can ride.  Let me just say, I’ve had my cruiser everywhere from the beach, to the street, to the mountains!  Gears?  Who needs them.  I can make every adjustment and do any repair myself because I have only one gear – nothing complicated!!  And, even the mountain terrain didn’t cause me to get off and walk up any hills.  So, give me a cruiser any day!  Besides, they’re cool!!!!

A typical ride may start in Seal Beach and continue through Sunset Beach, Bolsa Chica Beach, Huntington Beach, Newport Beach, and eventually Balboa Island – which is really cool because you have to take the Balboa Ferry to get to the island. 

After a nice lunch, we would retrace our steps all the way back to Seal Beach.  By the time we finished, we had gone about 40 miles.  It’s a great ride down the beach path.  There’s nothing like having the wind in your hair and the ocean in your view!  Absolutely stunning!

I always look forward to riding a new path, though.  This is a bike path we rode in the mountains a few weeks ago.  Even at more than 7,000 feet elevation, my cruiser served me well.  I will say this though, we were the only riders on cruisers and we did see some puzzled looks as we passed people on mountain bikes.

There’s something exciting to me about a new path that leads around a blind corner.  What will we see?

A tree with a story no one really knows.  Was it struck by lightning?

Has this tree simply reached the end of its life expectancy?  And, how long will it remain past that time?  For the past hundred years or so, I wonder how many people have stopped right where I am and gazed upon this same tree?  What were they thinking?

Into the thickest part of the ride – and another blind corner!

And finally, back to the car and ready for some lunch!

Thanks for stopping by.  I’ll see you tomorrow.

~ by photographyfree4all on August 10, 2010.

15 Responses to “IT’S AS EASY AS RIDING A BIKE”

  1. I have an 18 speed street bike and I love the gears and couldn’t get up
    half the hills around my home without their assistance. However;
    what is a beach Cruiser? Can you take a pic of it ans show us??
    Good pics btw sometimes they are rather boring but I liked this group!

    Like

  2. Thanks for your comment, Jack Weeks. I’m glad you stopped by. A cruiser is actually just an “old-style” single speed bike, usually w/o fenders. Sometimes, they’re tricked out and even referred to as comfort bikes. There’s a picture of mine loaded on the car in my last post.

    Like

  3. Checked out your blog and enjoyed the read and the images. Right in the middle of Australia at Kununurra still 3000 km from Perth and 1500 km from home in sydney, my expensive radio internet won’t allow me to track you until December but I’ll be pleased to respond to any comments, especially from a fellow photographer.

    Like

  4. I also enjoy new paths that lead around a corner 🙂 Nice post…reminds me of my youth!

    Like

  5. Thanks for your comment! I’m glad you stopped by and hope you’ll be back.

    Like

  6. I’m glad you stopped by while you had the chance, gymeagary. Wow – Australia! Enjoy your time there. thanks for your comment!

    Like

  7. I love these photos, the one with the bend is my favourite. I guess you’re right, there’s something magical about not knowing what’s around the corner.

    Like

  8. Nice trip you had here on your bike. I was the last one in my class to bike 😦 , but then I have been biking almost every day since! Still now when I’m 56 it’s my primary transportation, I love it – and hope I will be able to go on for many years 🙂

    Like

  9. Great pictures…I’m a little to nervous to go biking with my camera yet, I’m a bit of a klutz. I love the third from the top, it does look like it was struck by lightening.

    Like

  10. Thanks for your comments, greysqrl. And, thanks for stopping by. There is something special about those blind curves. I hope you’ll stop by again.

    Like

  11. Keep biking, Truels! It’s not so much when you start as when you stop. I hope I have many, many biking years left. I hope you’ll stop by again.

    Like

  12. Thanks ‘knitter for stopping by today! I keep my camera very secure when I’m biking. Even if I was to take a spill, I’m pretty sure it would survive unscathed – in fact, it would survive better than I would! I hope you’ll stop by again.

    Like

  13. I was going to ask what a ‘cruiser’ was, but I read your first response. These photos look so inviting. Reminds me of how we used to get everywhere we were going by bike, too.

    Like

  14. Usually a Beach Cruiser is used for a fairly level ride. And, that’s normally the case. But on ocassion, we ride some pretty steep hills and once in a while we even get into the mountains on them. Thanks for your comment. I hope you’ll stop by again.

    Like

  15. Lovely story-telling and photos to boot! Regrettably, I’m still in the time of life where there is NO TIME for bike riding! Some day… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
