SHHHHH!! DID YOU HEAR THAT???????

Yesterday while leisurely walking down a shadowy path minding my own business, I heard something rustling in the leaves.  Shhhh!  What was that????  I froze in my tracks at the sound and began to look around.  The path was so shaded it was difficult to see anything – almost as if it was dark!  Slowly I began to take a step.  Wait!!  There it was again – a rustling sound!!  I quickly turned to see only a blur moving among the shadows!  I froze in mid-step!!  With one foot dangling in front of me, I struggled to keep my balance as I once again methodically scanned the area! 

SUDDENLY, SOMETHING JUMPED AT ME FROM THE SHADOWS!!!  I CAME FACE TO FACE WITH MY VULNERABILITY ON THIS DARK, SHADOWY ABANDONED PATH!!!

A million thoughts flashed through my mind!  Like, I wish I would have taken more time to write yesterday’s blog post.  And, who really did have your favorite hat?  What were my last words to my family?  And, what about Red? 

I suddenly realized fright had robbed me of breath!  I was becoming wobbly!  My senses were fading and everything was growing dark.

FOR, I HAD COME FACE TO FACE WITH…

What is this prehistoric creature?  And, how did he survive the Jurassic age?

Acting quickly I decided to climb high above the carnivorous monster thinking he would lose interest in me and move on to another meal.

But even from my overhead perspective, he followed my every move.

Climbing down, I decided to skirt his flank to the other side.

Never taking his eyes from my slow, but ever steady movement, he continued to track my presence.  Was this a game he played with all his prey?

Finally luring him into the light, I decided to take my stand!  There was no denying it now – this path was only big enough for one of us!!! 

He rose even higher onto his haunches to meet my challenge!

Just when it seemed hope was all but gone, I reached out one more time with a final appeal.  Yes, I reminded him of my superior intellect and strength.  Yes, I reminded him that perhaps this was why his ancestors were extinct.  Yes, I reminded him that this was a path wide enough for both of us.

And with that, he retracted his pincher fangs and allowed me to help him to the side of the path.

Ah, safe at last.

Thanks for stopping by! 

~ by photographyfree4all on August 13, 2010.

37 Responses to “SHHHHH!! DID YOU HEAR THAT???????”

  1. LUCKY you!!!! A praying Mantis!! WOW!!!

    I hate to break it to ya but your ‘HE’ is most likely a ‘SHE’ as it appears as though the abdomen has 8 segments.

    I love your story telling… 🙂

    Like

  2. I love these pics! Seems like a Ninja Warrior to me! I don’t know whether it’s a male or female, but it sure seems like it is ready to protect its territory. If Red was a guy dragonfly, then I tend to think this is a little lady ninja praying mantis….Kunoichi. 🙂

    Like

  3. Maybe it just wanted to dance 😉 I love the shadowiness(?) of the first picture.

    Like

  4. If it is male, you could have tricked him into mating with a female. Decapitation usually chills men out.

    Great shots,

    D.

    Like

  5. Thanks, knitter. Maybe. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  6. Thanks for stopping by. Thanks for your compliment.

    Like

  7. Thanks Car54! A ninja Warrior – maybe. I hope you’ll stop by again.

    Like

  8. Thanks for your kind words, Milkayphoto! Maybe he is a she?!? Thanks for stopping by today.

    Like

  9. These are so great! I love taking pictures of insects. You certainly captured the little beasts personality! I enjoy your stories too!

    Like

  10. That first one is a great shot – the lighting really helps with the menacing mood. I am glad reason prevailed and you were able to escape unharmed 🙂

    Like

  11. Thanks for your comment, Journey! I really did like the way the first shot appears as only a silhouette. I hope you’ll stop by again.

    Like

  12. I enjoy insect photography, too! I really need to get a macro lens, though. Someday. Thanks for your comment, Lynda.

    Like

  13. Great capture and funny story!

    Like

  14. I wonder what kind of animal this scary monster is!? 😉

    Like

  15. Very funny story 🙂 love the sequence of photos on this one! good job.

    Like

  16. Thanks for your comment, Truels. It’s some type of mantis – I thought it was fascinating! I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  17. Texas Susan, thanks for your comment. I think I enjoy writing the stories as much as taking the photos. It’s a toss up. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  18. Love it. That mantis has some attitude, a real “bring it on” attitude. Some stunning imagery on your site.

    Like

  19. Thanks for your kind words, boredwitless. I really appreciate your comment. I loved the “Tude.” I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  20. Great shots! Praying mantises are creepy and cool. I really like the one with the shadow. Look out!! 🙂

    Like

  21. I like the first shot, too! Thanks for your comment. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  22. These photos are fantastic! I like the story too. Nicely done.

    Like

  23. While the photos are AMAZING, I think I would have probably stayed high up in a tree and FAR FAR away from this mantis.

    Like

  24. Thanks for your comment. It was tempting to stay away. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  25. Great shots. My boys live to find one of these beauties!

    Like

  26. WOW! What amazing pictures! Such a fun story to go along with them too 🙂

    Like

  27. Haha! Love it! 🙂

    Like

  28. wow! love your story…great read!

    Like

  29. Thanks for your comment, Janice. I’m glad you liked the story. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  30. Thanks, Jamie. I enjoy writing the stories. It’s nice to know so many people are reading them. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  31. Your words and photos make me smaile, as does this little creature. I love how you used the light/shadows in the photos to go from ominous to comical.

    Like

  32. Thanks for your comment, Joani. I do like the way the first shot turned out. I’m glad you stopped by.

    Like

  33. Great series and story. You must have an amazing macro!

    Like

  34. Thanks for your comment, Kate! I have to tell you about that particular capture. I started out by lying on my stomach some distance away from the mantis – partly because every move I would make he would flinch and I was fearful he might run away, or even worse – run toward me!!! After several minutes, I would inch my way closer via an army type crawl. Finally when I made the first capture, I was only inches away from him. I was using my 28-135 mm Canon zoom lens and had it extended as close to the mantis as I could and still focus. The macro is on my wish list, though. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ll come back, soon.

    Like

  35. I saw this on my phone while at work, and didn’t have time to write a comment then. I can’t believe I forgot to come back and comment on these later that night! This was hilarious. The photos were spectacular in themselves, but the story just brought it home. LOL

    Like

  36. Thanks for coming back, Cheryl. And, thanks for your kind words. I hope you’ll come back again, soon.

    Like

  37. […] Remember my post about the Ninja Mantis from a few weeks […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
