VIEWS FROM MY BIKE

There are several “Beach” bike rides we take along the Southern California coast.  We’ve biked from Seal Beach to Balboa Island – this is our long ride of about 40 miles.  Another ride may find us biking from Naples, through Belmont Shore, to Long Beach – this is our short ride of about 15 miles.

On this particular ride, we started in Huntington Beach and continued to Balboa Point – a ride of about 25 miles.  Balboa Point is such a beautiful place where you can relax and enjoy the sail boats exiting Newport Beach Harbor – like this one.

 

What a display of color!  I noticed these chairs as we rode through Newport Beach.  It was as if they were crying out for me to park my bike and enjoy the scenery for a while.  Even the beach in the reflection seemed to beg for attention.

Had I done that, this is the scene I would have enjoyed.  Imagine that – several of the sailboats we watched exiting the marina gathered just north of the Balboa Pier allowing us to enjoy them as they leisurely moved to and fro in the sea breezes.

There you have it – just a few of the sights we see when we cruise down that oh so familiar bike path that takes us right onto the beach.  I never tire of witnessing the spectacular beauty of these beach rides. 

Thanks for coming along!  I’ll see you tomorrow.

~ by photographyfree4all on August 18, 2010.

17 Responses to “VIEWS FROM MY BIKE”

  1. Ahhhh…..I think my name is on one of those chairs…begging me to come and sit a spell. Looks lovely I must admit. Great summer colors – sail boats, blue water, blue skies, palm trees and beach chairs – pretty perfect! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Thanks for your comment, Car54! Those chairs did look inviting. It’s a great ride. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  3. Thanks for these, I am tempted to go get a bike and go for a ride now 🙂
    Love those chairs, so colourful!

    Like

  4. I agree with Car54, those chairs do look inviting! The whole scene looks like something that belongs on a flyer, or a postcard…. so relaxing, such sharp colors!

    Like

  5. What a beautiful and amazing beach!

    Like

  6. Thanks creative! I never get tired of the view from my bike! I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  7. Thanks for your kind words, Holly. So many people chhose to ride in the hills – as do I on ocassion. But, it’s pretty hard to beat the beach ride. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  8. Let me encourage you to take that step and get the bike. One is presented with unbelievable photo opportunities you would never have if not riding a bike. thanks for your comment, Michael. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  9. The blue of the ocean on the picture at the top is amazing.

    How did you process the shot? I’m a fiend for deep vivid blues.

    Like

  10. Thank you for your comment and compliment, Illiterati. the first shot actually has only a slight boost of color. It was a spectacular day where the blue sky was creating a grand reflection on the water creating a natural blue color. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ll come back, soon.

    Like

  11. Amazing! I am, myself, a really amateur photographer, and I am a fan of good photography wherever it may present itself. Thank you. Your blog is lovely.

    Like

  12. This photo is beautiful!

    Like

  13. I have to agree with previous comments… those beautiful colored deck chairs make for a strikingly simple, yet fascinating picture! Love your “work” and DO read the words ;-), thanks for sharing. I am a firm believer that there’s a perfect picture everywhere one turns and need to carry my camera far more than I do!

    Like

  14. Thanks for your kind words, mizzou1028. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  15. I was taken by the deck chairs from the moment I saw them. The seemed so “Summery!” Thanks for your comment, Rodney. I really appreciate it. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  16. Lucky, lucky getting to photograph biking along the beach! How cool. I love California and spent some time in Huntington Beach. Love the photos and especially the popping beach chairs. Awesome job!!

    Like

  17. Thank you for your comment, Angelia. It is pretty special to enjoy that scenery every time you ride. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ll come back, soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
