SCARED STRAIGHT!!

Remember my post about the Ninja Mantis from a few weeks ago?

(1)

Well, apparently he became so frightened he jumped right out of his skin!

(2)

Not really! It’s a natural phenomenon for the mantis to shed its skin 3-4 times during their 6-12 month lifetime. This skin was discovered not far from the exact place of our encounter.

Thanks for stopping by on this holiday weekend! By the way, what are you doing here? Why are you not out and about enjoying the holiday??

I’m glad you stopped by – even on a holiday weekend!

~ by photographyfree4all on September 4, 2010.

15 Responses to “SCARED STRAIGHT!!”

  1. I have been out and about but it’s just about beddy-bye time here in West Texas. Have a great weekend. Bob

    Like

  2. P. S. I love your original photo of the “Ninja” mantis. Bob

    Like

  3. My clock says, 7:09 PM at the time of this message, Bob! Is that my time or yours? At any rate, thanks for the well wishes for the weekend! You do the same. And, now I’m off for my beauty sleep!

    Like

  4. Thanks, Bob!

    Like

  5. I like the first one. it’s awesome.

    Like

  6. Thanks, umepinkie! I’m glad you stopped by and left a comment.

    Like

  7. That ninja mantis is unbelievable! I’ve never seen that before. I’m thinking the comments are in your time; you can actually set the time zone you prefer in your WordPress dashboard. No big weekend plans here; shopping, relaxing with the family and blogging!

    Like

  8. Haha! That’s wonderful. It reminds me of the time I came across a grasshopper in the process of shedding it’s ‘skin’. I thought it was one ugly bug devouring another!

    Like

  9. I have to agree about the comments being in my time zone. I remember setting that at the very beginning. Thanks for stopping by, Karma! Enjoy your weekend.

    Like

  10. Thanks for stopping by, missusk! Funny the things you learn here, isn’t it? And, where was your camera when you stumbled upon this grasshopper? Thanks for leaving this comment. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  11. I remember the Mantis, I like the follow up 🙂

    Like

  12. What a great capture! I’m likin’ #1 🙂 Thanks for sharing!
    I was wondering, can you tell me if it’s better to post photos using “Categories”, “Tags”, or both? I think I finally figured out how to insert “tags” with my “Pic of the Day” but I can’t say I understand how it all works… Sometimes I find my photos displayed with WordPress when I click on the “photography” category, sometimes I don’t.

    Like

  13. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a nice comment, Barb. If I understand everything correctly, when you designate the category it determines where that post will be located on your blog. For instance, most of the time my posts fall under the category that I created and named “Photographic Journey.” But on occasion, I will post a tip, which I categorize as Photography Tip. This post will then be placed within that category on my blog, which I also created. When someone comes to your blog, they can look at your categories and find your posts that way.

    Tags, on the other hand, determine where your posts will be located on the WordPress site. For instance, if you tag a post “Photography” it will be placed in the Photography Section of the WordPress site. You can “Tag” each post with multiple tags such as, Photography and Pictures. When you do that, your post will be placed in two places on the WordPress site. The more tags you use, the more places your posts are located on the WordPress site.

    I hope that makes sense. I’m really glad you stopped by! I hope you’ll come back, soon.

    Like

  14. It’s always a pleasure visiting your blog. Thanks very much for your response. 🙂 What is confusing to me is that I have seen some of my photographs show up on the WordPress Photography listings without inserting tags, just attaching “categories”. I’ll keep on posting and playing and may get it figured out some day…

    Like

  15. Wow! I’m not sure how that would have happened. I know every once in a while I will forget to “Tag” a post. the only was I know is that I can’t find it anywhere on the WordPress site. I always go back and assign a tag – and after updating the post, there it is in that WordPress Tag section. It’s a mystery, Barb! Keep experimenting – that’s what I do! Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
