THE SUMMER THAT NEVER WAS…

It was going to be a glorious day!  Leaving my home around 10:45 AM with bikes in tow, I could only smile as I drove by the middle school and noticed the temperature reading – 100 degrees!  Whew!  Glad to be heading to the beach! 

Arriving at the coast somewhat surprised – even shocked, I mentally gathered pertinent information: 

Time – 11:35 AM 

Visibility – Maybe 100 feet 

Temperature – In the 50’s 

Getting out of the car, I knew the ocean was there.  I could hear it.  But, I couldn’t see it.  I would need to ride hard – just to keep warm! 

In a place where summer is the marquee word in every media blitz calling for tourists to visit the land where it never rains, this weekend saw the passing of the “Summer that Never Was.” 

When a summer Saturday comes to Southern California, it’s all about pulling on my favorite pair of shorts, grabbing my “Life Is Good” tee-shirt, slipping into my Sanuk flip-flops (Can you believe we called these things “thongs” at one time?  That really has a completely different meaning today, doesn’t it?), loading the bike on the car and heading to the beach for what would no doubt be a fantastic 4-5 hour ride! 

From the Gidget movie genre of the 60’s to the Baywatch genre of the 90’s and everything in between and since, Southern California has always been a place where summer was king!  And, the beach was the place to be!   

But sadly, the summer of 2010 will most likely be remembered as the “Summer that Never Was.”  Endless Summer?  Not this year! 

Never without my camera, I captured this surfer as he watches the timing of the sets from the beach.  Even at a little past 1:00 PM, he’s faced with a sight all too familiar from this summer – cold water, clouds, and fog.  I thought a pier disappearing into that fog was a brilliant depiction of a “Summer that Never Was.” 

 (4) 

I shot this photograph last Saturday at the Balboa Pier in Newport Beach.

As it turns out, the bike ride was hard because the wind was strong out of the northwest.  It was a cool ride, in more ways than one – typical…this last ride of the “Summer that Never Was.” 

Thanks for stopping by.  I’ll see you tomorrow.

~ by photographyfree4all on September 7, 2010.

51 Responses to “THE SUMMER THAT NEVER WAS…”

  1. Love the fog…gives the shot a mysterious feel to it 🙂

    Like

  2. I thought the same thing, Janice. In fact, I think there is a beauty to this shot not found in your typical beach shots. I’m glad you stopped by and thank you for leaving a comment. I really appreciate it.

    Like

  3. This photo makes me think of the beach in December rather than August or September. It also seems so mysterious to me – like the surfer isn’t sure he wants to venture out into the waters – great shot! 🙂

    Like

  4. Yes, there is certainly a beauty to the fog in this image. However, I like the surfer. He seems to be contemplating, “Do I really want to do this? 🙂

    Like

  5. It really does, Car54. If you came to the beach in December, it might actually look better than it did on this day. In fairness, it eventually did clear off. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  6. I agree. I think the shot would be much less interesting without the surfer, Bob. I really think he was questioning whether a surf was worth it on this day. But, to put an end to that question, he did head out a few minutes after I took this shot. Thanks for stopping by! I really appreciate your comments.

    Like

  7. The fog is beautiful–I think I prefer foggy shots to sunny ones. This one is unique because of the length of it–gives us a feel for the hugeness of the pier. Is that the one in your header?

    I guess your summer must have wandered up here! We actually had warmer than normal temperatures for most of it. 🙂

    Like

  8. Maybe it did! Thank you for stopping by and leaving this comment, Heather. I love the beach. But unlike most, I can be very happy with a foggy beach or I can be very happy with a sunny beach. As long as it changes, that makes it even better for me! It was a surprise last weekend, though. I had not listened to the weather. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  9. Beautifully done – love the composition and the mood.

    By the way, we called those sandals “zorries” when we were growing up…maybe that’s an east coast thing…?

    – Jeff

    Like

  10. Interesting…Zorries…I’ve never heard of that. Thanks for your comment, Lazarus. I think it’s amazing how the fog seems to change the whole mood of the shot. Some say it’s more mysterious. Some say it’s more calming. It’s very interesting because I almost didn’t consider taking any shots that day because of the fog. I guess I learned something. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ll come back.

    Like

  11. Heather, I didn’t mean to ignore your question. The pier in my header is at Avila Beach, which is just north of Pismo Beach in Central California. The pier pictured today in in Newport Beach, which is located between LA and San Diego. I’m glad you stopped by!

    Like

  12. Great shot! I love the way the pier anchors the picture, so to speak, on the side. It looks like we’re having the same summer, although I’m a bit further North. I, too, wasn’t going to shoot that day. Funny how things happen.

    Like

  13. Thanks, Kristina! I’m really glad you stopped by and left this comment! It’s just been one of those summers here – rare! What I saw over the weekend is commonly referred to as June Gloom around here. I really have never seen it in August and September, until this year when it’s been quite common! I hope you’ll stop back again, soon.

    Like

  14. Wow this shot is great!

    Like

  15. Thank you so much for your kind comment, Terry! I’m so glad you stopped by. I was telling someone today that I almost didn’t get this shot because I didn’t think in the fog it would be that good. Biy, was I ever wrong! I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  16. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I appreciate the visit. I added your site to the blogroll at my photography site. Your picture of the surfer reminded me of a recent trip to the Oregon Coast. It took three days to find the sun and then it didn’t hang around for long. Now, I’m back home and fall is definitely in the air.

    Like

  17. This was stunning!!! GREAT shot…

    Like

  18. Thanks for your comment, Mike. I’m glad you stopped by. It felt like a Washington or Oregon beach day to me! I hope you’ll stop by again, soon!

    Like

  19. Thanks for your kind words, Susan. I’m so glad you stopped by. I hope you’ll come back again, soon.

    Like

  20. Wonderful image!!

    Like

  21. Thank you, Annette! I’m so glad you stopped by and left such a nice comment. The image was really a surprise as I almost din’t take the shot because of the fog. As it turns out, the fog makes it even more interesting! I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  22. Nice shot!

    I can’t believe how cool it’s been in CA this year. We are still having temps in the 90s on the East Coast. I’d gladly trade you….

    Like

  23. This is by far the coolest summer I can remember! I’m so glad you stopped by Pearls. As cool as it’s been, I think I’ll just keep it rather than trade for your heat! 🙂 I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  24. Really beautiful shot. The fog sets the mood, and I love the asymmetric composition with the pier and the surfer. Nicely done!

    Like

  25. Thanks for stopping by and leaving this wonderful comment, finding. I liked this shot from the beginning (even though I almost didn’t take it). At first, I was disappointed a little because of the fog. But as the day progressed, it was great! I hope you’ll come back again, soon.

    Like

  26. Nice image. Can you believe we do actually still call them thongs in Australia!?!

    Like

  27. Wow! That is hard to believe, Jo! But, every place is different. I’m really glad you stopped by and left a comment! I hope you’ll come back again, soon!

    Like

  28. Nice shot! I really enjoy the different tones present in the fog. Great composition as well my friend. I would be interested to see what a diagonal or right side grad would do to add some pop to the pier. It would be nice if there were some darks on that edge.

    Like

  29. Thanks for your great comment, cinesthetics. I have to confess, I’m pretty new to this and really am not familiar with the terminology you’re using here. Can you share what a diagonal or right side grad would be? I would love to know more and maybe some of the readers would, as well. Or, maybe someone else can add to this comment with one of your own. I really appreciate your comment and would be eager to try it, if I can. The photo is straight from the camera with no post processing. Any help you can suggest would be greatly appreciated! Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ll come back again, soon.

    Like

  30. Wow, so much for summer. That fog is amazing for summer time. The most we get here down under is a thunder storm, and they usually clear up the following day.

    Like

  31. I love that shot, nice clarity to the subject and the pier and then it all disappears into fog, very very lovely!!!!

    Like

  32. Thanks for your comment, Daz! I wish we could have seen a thunderstorm here in So Cal! I love the usual sunshine, but once in a while a rain storm would be wonderful. But, that will all be here soon enough. I’m really glad you stopped by. I hope you’ll come back again, soon.

    Like

  33. Thanks for your kind words here, Michael! I think the fog is the element that seems to be grabbing all the attention! Thanks for stopping by. I always appreciate your comments!

    Like

  34. Beautiful photo!
    It’s really moody and the composition is great! I love all the different scales you get with the beach and the surfer in the foreground and the sea and the pier fading away…
    Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

  35. I’m so glad you stopped by today, Kai! Thank you for your kind words. I’m really pleased with this shot and the reaction from the people who see it. Thanks for adding your expertise to the discussion. I hope you’ll come back, soon.

    Like

  36. Great shot and the surfer is the cherry on the top. I sympathize with your lack of summer – same here – our coldest, cloudiest on record (southern Alberta).

    Like

  37. Thank you for your comment, Kathleen. I’m glad you stopped by. This has been a summer to remember. But even with the cooler temperatures, I’ve still managed regular beach bike rides. I’ve simply added clothing. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  38. Good composition–the surfer standing there looking at the prospect of low vis and the pier is in stark contrast with the stereotypical running into the waves with reckless abandon. Well done. The fog reminds me of my youth up on California’s Central Coast where summer days in Avila Beach, Morro Bay, and Cayucos almost always looked like that until early afternoon. Well done – jim

    Like

  39. Thank you for these kind words, Jim! You grew up in a very beautiful area. I love that area of California. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ll stop by tomorrow to vote for the Friday Favorite!

    Like

  40. Ah this pic is so cool. The colour palette is perfect – I love how the pier is only just visible in the distance.

    Good one!

    Like

  41. I grew up in California, spending the first years in Orange County (and many summers around Balboa and Lido Island) and later in the Bay Area. Your great photograph brings back many childhood memories of living near the coast. Thanks for posting this!

    Like

  42. I love the composition on this. Beautiful.

    Like

  43. Thank you for these kind words, Susan. I’m glad you stopped by and left a comment. Come back again.

    Like

  44. Thank you for your kind words, Lizzi. I’m so glad you stopped by and left a comment. We love riding to the Balboa Point or even to take the ferry to Balboa Island. We usually start around Huntington Beach, ride down to Balboa, lunch on Ruby’s roof, then back. It’s a great ride! I hope you’ll stop by again, soon!

    Like

  45. Thank you, Kris. I really appreciate your kind words. I hope you’ll stop by again.

    Like

  46. Wow. You make me want to find this place. I feel like you’ve brought it to life. Great photo.

    Like

  47. Thanks, Darth. I’m really glad you found my blog and left a comment! At the end of this pier is a little diner called Ruby’s. You can sit on the roof and enjoy your meal while suspended over the Pacific Ocean. It’s pretty incredible. I hope you’ll come back again, soon.

    Like

  48. I really like this shot – something different to all the normal sunny beach pics. I wonder if the surfer went in?

    Like

  49. It is very different, Journey! And the surfer did go in just a few moments later. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ll come back, soon.

    Like

  50. This is a great shot and simply WOULD NOT be the same without the fog. The fog gives a sense of mystery – like the surfer is heading out into the unknown that is the powerful sea.

    Like

  51. […] this shot first appeared in a post, I was amazed at the number of positive comments I received.  For some, it was the fog.  For […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
