I’M DREAMING OF A WHITE CHRISTMAS

I thought, as long as I’m stuck on Christmas (since a recent post opened with Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer), I might as well continue with that thought. I shot this picture from outside my house in March. What a stunning view! It was a beautiful morning filled with fresh mountain snow, clear blue skies, and soft white clouds still lingering in the valleys. Definitely a soup day…mmm, potato cheese for me, please.

I know black and white editing can be tricky. So, I’ll tell you up front that I only extracted the color from this shot to create the B&W. No tedious editing. But, I still thought I would include it.

I hope everyone has a good weekend!

Thanks for stopping by!

~ by photographyfree4all on September 11, 2010.

40 Responses to “I’M DREAMING OF A WHITE CHRISTMAS”

  1. Very Majestic….I am partial to the color one though, on this. Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

  2. This is a brilliant landscape photo!
    I can’t quite decide which version I prefer: On the one hand the colour version really brings out the beautiful tones, whereas the black and white brings out the structure. I would say, overall that the black and white works best for me, cause I find the colour distracts from the structure.
    Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

  3. Uh-wow. You are blessed to have such a view. A view like that could cure a lot of things…

    Beautiful shot, but I prefer the colour one this time–though, I do love b&w. In this case, I find the blue hues add to the majestic quality of it, somehow.

    Like

  4. Hi, Bob Zeller here again. I love the color rendition. It is an outstanding landscape. I also love good b%w photos, but this one I think lacks the dramatic. I think that if it were a bit more contrasty, maybe to bring out some detail to the mountains, it would be a great shot, too. But that’s just me. 🙂

    Like

  5. The black and white is more eye-catching than the color, but both are nice.

    Like

  6. Both nice shots. I find black and white seem to give “that fifties” look. Almost rustic. Well done.

    Like

  7. Thank you for your comment, Elena! I’m really glad you stopped by. It’s interesting how people see things differently. I think I’m partial to the color shot, but if I worked with the B&W, I might be able to draw out some additional contrast that would make that one preferable. You like the color. I do too at this point. I hope you’ll come back again, soon.

    Like

  8. Kai, thank you for your kind words here. This is so interesting because to many the color is the more appealing shot. While others really like the B&W. It’s all in the eye of the beholder. I’m so glad you stopped by today. I hope you’ll come back, soon.

    Like

  9. Heather, you always say the nicest things! I always appreciate your comments. Another vote cast for the color shot! thanks for stopping by. I appreciate your kind words.

    Like

  10. Bob, I’m always when glad you take the time to leave a comment. I appreciate your comments because they always add to the context of the post! I hope people are reading all the comments because they are often filled with a wealth of ideas and knowledge. Your suggestions here make me want to get this thing back out and play with the B&W editing. Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  11. Thank you for this comment, Iheartfilm. I think it’s great to hear everyone’s preference. It always causes me to reconsider mine! I’m glad you stopped by.

    Like

  12. Thanks, Chris! I like the rustic look of B&W. I find it so interesting that most seem to really like both shots, but still prefer one over the other. And, it’s about equally divided. I love that you are willing to comment about your preference. I think it really adds to the content of the post. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ll come back soon.

    Like

  13. While I normally prefer color on mountain pictures, the black and white is stunning. While majestic, there is a haunting note to it that I like.

    Like

  14. Not the ‘C’ word just yet!

    What a view, stunning. I prefer the colour shot too, the mountains are more dramatic somehow…

    Like

  15. Two very good shots – I like them both. And I’m glad you showed us both – that gave me another little push towards doing the same – soon….. By the way, I find your blog so interesting, that I’ll make a link to it on my blog – OK?

    Like

  16. HAHA! I’ve seen stores selling “C” stuff already! Thanks for your comment, Diane. I’m really glad you stopped by.

    Like

  17. Thank you for your comment, truels! It’s really interesting with B&W. When both are shown together, it seems difficult to decide which I like best. Although some readers have more easily chosen. I think I like them both, too! Thank you for your kind words, and of course, I would be honored to have my blog linked to yours! Thank you for doing that. Stop by again, soon.

    Like

  18. Thank you for adding this comment, j.m. I think it’s the clouds in the B&W that may be giving it that haunting sense. I’m glad you stopped by. I hope you’ll come back soon.

    Like

  19. Both shots are awesome but I do like the colored the best. The blue hues are so beautiful. Makes me want to be there.

    Like

  20. Thanks for stopping by today, Gwyn! If I had to chose I would probably choose the color shot, too. But, I would like to work with the B&W more. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  21. Amazing shots.. Really enjoyed the look through.

    K

    Like

  22. I’m really glad you stopped by and left this comment, 2b. I really appreciate your kind words. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  23. I love the color one the best. Wish I could pull up a rock and sit a spell enjoying the beauty and serenity that God has created for our enjoyment.

    Like

  24. Your pictures are luxurious Wow. I’m trying, I’ll get there, but WOW!

    Like

  25. Great shot, I find simple color extraction works well for my B&W’s too.:-)

    Like

  26. That’s a lovely shot that I wouldn’t want to change to monochrome. I’m with Bob on this one, it lacks the drama for the BW, but has possibilities.

    Like

  27. Thank you for this kind comment, Gary! I’m glad you stopped by because this site is designed not only to chronicle my journey, but to also offer help to anyone on a similar path. So, stop by soon and often!

    Like

  28. You are so lucky to have such an amazing view from your house! I think the color photo is more dramatic, but they are both beautiful!

    Like

  29. It seems to work most of the time, as in the case here. Sometimes I think you can enhance the B&W a little with contrast adjustments. I may try some editing here eventually. Thank you for you comment, Ed. I do hope you’ll stop by again, soon!

    Like

  30. Thank you for stopping by and leaving this comment, Michael. I too agree with Bob, here. I still may ticker with it, but even then I will probably prefer the color. Thank for your contribution! I hope you’ll stop by again.

    Like

  31. Thank you for your comment, Holly! I’m so glad you stopped by today. It was an amazing view on this morning! This particular area is very beautiful in the winter time. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon!

    Like

  32. I like them both. There’s nothing like winter in California. 🙂

    Like

  33. Thank you for your comment, Miss Betty! You always say the kindest things about my photography. I’m so glad you stopped by.

    Like

  34. California is so beautiful. How lucky you are to have such a view out your door!

    Like

  35. Both shots are magnificent…the black and white one reminds me a bit of Ansel Adams and the majesty he conveyed in his work. Great pictures! I love browsing through your work!

    Like

  36. Thank you for commenting on these shots, bbworld. I hope you’ll visit again. I like converting to B&W sometimes, but would really like to take the time to further edit to see if I could make the shot even more dramatic. I’m so glad you stopped by.

    Like

  37. Texture seems to be highlighted in the B&W shot but I agree with bbworld – both are great shots!
    Dave

    Like

  38. Thank you for your comment, Dave! I’m really glad you stopped by. I hope you’ll stop by again, soon.

    Like

  39. As I travel around the blogs and photography sites, I come across some really stunning black and white photos, and ogle them enviously. It is not an area I know well – black and white – but when it’s executed masterfully, it can take your breath away. I think your b/w version is very good. I like that the whitest part (those clouds) are sandwiched between a darker background (the mountains) and a still darker foreground (the trees). Also, the 8 pine trees in a row are more dramatic in black and white.

    Like

  40. Thank you for stopping by, Sandra! I’m really glad you found my blog. I thank you for your kind words and hope you will stop by again, soon! BTW, your synopsis of the B&W is very detailed and good. I thank you for that. It really contributes to this post. That’s what I’m really striving for.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
