WE’RE NOT IN KANSAS ANYMORE

Actually, a better title might be “We’re Not in Cansas Anymore” based on the latest food charity displays at the South Coast Plaza in Costa Mesa, California.    Canstruction is the most unusual food charity in the world!

A foundation of the Society for Design Administration (SDA), Canstruction is a trademarked design/build competition currently held in cities throughout North America and countries around the world including Australia.  Teams of architects, engineers, and students mentored by these professionals, compete to design and build giant structures made entirely out of canned foods.  It takes 8-12 weeks and thousands of cans of food to create a structure.

The results are displayed to the public as magnificent sculpture exhibits in each city where a competition is held.  The public is invited to donate canned food at the time of the exhibition.  At the close of the exhibitions all of the canned food used in the structures is donated to local food banks for distribution to emergency feeding programs that include pantries, soup kitchens, elderly and day care centers.

Since its inception, ten million pounds of food has been donated to aid in the fight against hunger.  Initiated by the Denver, Seattle and New York Chapters of the SDA in 1992, Canstruction now has over one hundred and forty individual competitions scheduled to take place during the 2009-2010 cycle.

Design and construction industry professional associations that have partnered with the SDA in organizing local competitions include the American Institute of Architects, the Society for Marketing Professional Services and the International Interior Design Association.

We invite you to tour the website to see how you can become part of this exciting competition to aid in the fight against hunger.

You may remember my escapades of photographing this exhibit from an earlier post.  Well, I was finally somewhat successful.  Folks, never give up on a shot!

Enjoy these photos of the display. “We’re Not in Cansas Anymore.”

For this shot, it was necessary to lie down on the floor in the center of this aisle with my camera just above the floor.  Don’t miss the Wicked Witch of the West in the upper right portion of the frame.

As long as I’m down here, I might as well get a close up shot.

I thought you might be interested in the technical details of this display.

I hope you’ll browse their website to gather even more information.  It’s a wonderful charity with designs on feeding the hungry of the world.

Don’t forget, tomorrow is FRIDAY FAVORITE! I hope you’ll plan to stop by and place your vote.  It’s a simple process that will only take a moment of your time.

Thanks for stopping by.  I’ll see you tomorrow.

~ by photographyfree4all on September 16, 2010.

7 Responses to “WE’RE NOT IN KANSAS ANYMORE”

  1. that’s a great creative vision by dougherty + dougherty, and I’m glad to see it’s for a good cause. thanks for posting this

    Like

  2. I was amazed at some of the structures. Unfortunatle this was the only one that would present itself for a shot. Even here, I had to drop some of the restraints when no one was looking. The design was very intricate. You are unable to really see how that rainbow is intricately built and supported withing the framework of the city. I loved shooting it. Thanks for your comment, Fir! I’m so glad you stopped by.

    Like

  3. Thank you for showing this! Very interesting and different organisation this “Canstruction”, I must admit that I spent some time looking at all the special figures on their website. And I love that all the fun i for a good purpose.

    Like

  4. I’m glad you stopped by and left this comment, Truels! I’m for anything that will help peopel in a genuine way! This seems to do that. It was very interesting to see the displays and the time spent on them. I hope you’ll come by again, soon.

    Like

  5. LOL… Well that certainly is quite the unique use of cans, and quite the display too… Very neat…

    Like

  6. Very nice, I like the “idea” behind it and I like your photographic view on it 🙂

    Like

  7. Thanks, Michael. I do wish I could have shot more of the displays, but I just had no shot when it came to the restraining barriers around them. Thanks for stopping by today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
