WHAT’S YOUR STORY??

There’s nothing really special about this red lantern.  At least, there’s nothing special as far as I know.  But, doesn’t it make you think?  I always wonder about the story behind something like this.  I know this could be a modern replica of a much older lantern.  In fact, it likely is.  But, what if it’s not?  What if it really is 100 years old? What stories would be attached to this lantern?  What man used this to light his way to the barn to begin his early morning chores?  What young person stayed up late, captivated by one of our early American writers, reading only by the light of this dimly lit lantern?  The possibilities are endless, limited only by our lack of imagination!

But now it hangs on this hitching post in a small mountain community, unable to convey to me the excitement of its history.  I’m left to ponder the possible events surrounding its life.

Everything has history.  Everyone has a story.  I hope one day we’ll be able to share in those stories as we continue down this path.  I’m so glad you’ve come along for this journey.  Each of you becomes a part of the story!  And that’s exciting.

I’m really glad you stopped by today!

~ by photographyfree4all on November 26, 2010.

13 Responses to “WHAT’S YOUR STORY??”

  1. Guess there are mysteries everywhere. I like the thought of someone ‘burning the midnight oil’ with a good book, near a crackling fire… in a little log cabin… surrounded by snow frosted pines…

    Like

  2. I love the notion that everything has a story and I find the story of others who photograph rather interesting. Sometimes just looking at a picture can evoke a story and each can be unique based on each perspective. Thank you for sharing your stories, they are interesting, newsworthy and educational.

    Like

  3. I like the idea of “me” burning the midnight oil with a book, near a crackling fire, in a little log cabin, surrounded by snow frosted pines! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your comment, Heather! Great, as always!

    Like

  4. I guess that’s the way my mind works, Martina. I photograph something like this lantern – or it really could be anything – and my mind begins to imagine the history surrounding what I’m seeing. I become fascinated to think about the possibilities that could have surrounded this artifact! Thanks for this great comment, martina! I really appreciate it.

    Like

  5. And, thank you for your kind words about my writing! I so appreciate your kindness so much. Martina!

    Like

  6. 🙂

    That’s what blogging is, for me, all about. Sharing and learning stories.

    Like

  7. And that’s what it’s becoming for me too, Robin! It’s funny, but I wasn’t sure what to expect when I began the blog. But, I’m happy this is where it’s headed! Thanks for the comment!

    Like

  8. Great story and a great photograph. It excites the imagination.

    Bob

    Like

  9. Thanks, Bob! I always appreciate your comments! I received the calendar – and WOW! I’m glad I got one! I’ll have more to say about that in a future post this week. Great job, Bob!

    Like

  10. I agree! I love wondering what the history of old objects might be, even if the objects themselves eeem really banal…
    I remember once looking through some old nature books in a dusty little bookshop in England, and finding, written on the first page of one them: “To dear Mummy, Happy Christmas 1947”. That made me think…!
    Great post

    Like

  11. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Kai! I always look forward to your comments. I guess I’m odd that way! I see a cactus that may ne 100 years old and I wonder who has gazed upon this same cactus in the past! Someone famous? I love old books like that! Don’t get me started on used bookstores – a big weakness of mine! Great comment, Kai, as usual!

    Like

  12. Back in 1956 when I was stationed at the old air base in Reno Nevada, I visited some friends over in Winemucca. On their ranch there was this high isolated hill off in the desert. I climbed up and found an old purple whiskey bottle. No markings and it looked like it was made to use a cork. I still have that, and always dream that it may have been in the saddle bag hanging on a burro, being pulled by and old prospector. Or maybe an outlaw tossed it there. It was probably 50-100 years old then, so now it really old. 🙂

    Bob

    Like

  13. Now that is an exciting story to me, Bob! My mind runs wild with ideas and thoughts as to its history! Great, great comment! Thanks for sharing it here!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
