A TRUE ROCKY STORY

Most journeys begin with the highest of aspirations!  I mean, who really begins a journey thinking it will take them nowhere?  No!  At the risk of failure, we bravely set sail with only a blank horizon in our immediate vision.

There’s something you should know about me.  I mentioned it in two previous posts, “I Have a Dream” part 1 and part 2.  You should know that I’m a dreamer!  Now, I’m not talking about meandering through your day with your head in the clouds, accomplishing little if anything with your life.  Specifically, I’m talking about creating a vision of where you’ll be in 1 year, then in 5 years.  For me, it’s all about having a dream!  When I was in high school, I was in the cast of South Pacific.  I played the part of Abner.  He wasn’t a lead, but he had some cool dance moves – well, cool for the time period of the play.  I’ll never forget one of the musical numbers from that play, Happy Talk.  The lyrics were, “Happy talkin’, talkin’ happy talk – talk about things you’d like to do.  You’ve got to have a dream!  If you don’t have a dream, how you gonna have a dream come true?” I would rather dream a dream that never comes to pass, than to live my life having never dared to dreamed at all!

Now if my first belief is to have a dream, my second belief would be this – If you’re going to dream, you might as well dream big!  Seriously, reach for something that seems impossible to everyone around you!

In March 2010, a dream was born and a journey began.  It’s a journey filled with dreams along the way!  Some have already been realized.  Others have not.  Am I disappointed that some of my dreams have not come to pass?  NO!  Because as far as I’m concerned, they just haven’t come to pass…YET!!

It was a chilly morning in early September when I captured the shot featured in this post.  I had biked down the coast to the Balboa Pier in Newport Beach, California.  Arriving at the pier, I discovered the early morning fog was fighting for its very life against the warmth of the sun.  And at this point, the fog was winning the battle.  I locked my bike, grabbed my camera, and began to shoot.  My first instinct was to walk out onto the pier to see what foggy landscape I could capture.  But as I looked around, I quickly realized the best opportunity might just be from under the pier today.  And, I was right!

The fog coupled with a group of skimboarders waiting for the fog to clear, created the perfect setting for the shot you see below.

When this shot first appeared in a post, I was amazed at the number of positive comments I received.  For some, it was the fog.  For others, it was the surfer. (Actually, he’s a skimboarder.  A skimboard is a smaller, thinner board made for skimming on top of the water.  The skimboarder will run toward the water, throw the board down, and jump on – skimming on top of the waves.)  Still others remarked about the scale of the pier, only now realizing its enormity because of the skimboarder in the shot.  The point is, it seemed to be an appealing shot to everyone who commented.

Because of your responses, I shared the photograph with other students and the instructor of a photography class I happened to be taking at the time.  I wanted to get additional feedback.  I did, and it was similar to what you had already said.  For the next two months, I continued to show this particular shot to everyone who would take the time to examine it.  Everyone from friends, family, professional photographers, printers, and co-workers was given the opportunity to examine and evaluate this shot.

In January 2011, the MUZEO will be featuring an art exhibit entitled Photographic Journeys.  From the submissions of nearly two hundred amateur and professional photographers, this photograph was selected to be a part of this exhibit!  Framed and matted in the museum’s 24″ x 30″ gallery-specific design, this piece – MY PHOTO – will be exhibited from January through August of 2011.  A small plaque with the name of the piece of art, “The Foggy Pier,” and my name as the artist will be displayed directly below the picture.

The MUZEO, Southern California’s newest museum, a center for arts, knowledge, entertainment and culture, will engage people of all ages via the showcase of prestigious and world-class traveling exhibits. A new model for urban cultural centers the MUZEO will feature a unique variety of changing exhibitions, special events, lectures, classes and weekend festivals. The 25,000 square foot MUZEO complex encompasses Anaheim’s original Carnegie Library (built in 1908) and a new state-of-the art gallery space which has been seamlessly integrated into an urban setting, intimately surrounded by two connecting courtyards.

When I began this journey, I took a piece of paper from my desk and created a list of dreams I planned to realize along the way.  The third dream on that list reads, “One day people will be able to walk into a gallery and find my work.” 

Much like the famous underdog story of the fictitious Rocky Balboa, on January 11, 2011, that dream will become a reality!!

And in all humility, I have you to thank.  Because in addition to my family and friends, your participation in my blog as well as your expertise and comments, fueled the dream everyday!  So I say, “Thank you!”  “Je vous remercie!”  “Gracias!”  “Vielen Dank!”  “Dank u!”  “Ευχαριστούμε!”  “감사합니다!”  “Grazie!”  “Hvala!”  “Спасибо!”  “Obrigado!”  And, too many more to mention! 

🙂

~ by photographyfree4all on December 2, 2010.

44 Responses to “A TRUE ROCKY STORY”

  1. Great story! I remember well the first time my photographs were in a gallery in Santa Cruz. It was such a joy! The first time my photo was featured in a new article, on the front page of a local newspaper, the first time my photos were featured on others blog, the first photo purchased for commercial use. They are all exciting. May this be the first first of many!

    Like

  2. Congratulations!!! Great that you shot this image, and that you achieved one of your goals – to exhibit your work to the public. You can also be proud of your blog – and all the ideas and inspirations you give us readers here 😉

    Like

  3. Congratulations! How exciting for you to see one of your dreams come true. I love your thoughts in this post and agree with you 100%…we need to dream big! 🙂

    Like

  4. This is fabulous news! Your persistence has rewarded you handsomely.

    Bravo!
    Lynda

    Like

  5. great shot!

    Like

  6. Congratulations!! This is very exciting! I only hope I get to have such an honor as well someday. Keep up the excelling work and I must say, even without this achievement, you inspire me to try new things with my photography. Bravo!

    Like

  7. Wow! I hope I’m heading down that same path, Kate!! It’s pretty amazing how things can come together, though. Thank you for the encouragement and for stopping by to share this comment! I really appreciate it.

    Like

  8. Thank you for the encouragement about the blog, Truels! The success of the blog is actually the first dream I listed!! Isn’t that amazing that you mentioned it? It’s the encouragement I receive here that truly fuels my dreams! Thank you for sharing your comment! They’re always great! Great comment.

    Like

  9. Dream Big Jolene!!! Thank you for this comment and for your vote of confidence. I’m glad you dream, too! Never stop! Great job, Jolene.

    Like

  10. You make a very valid point, Lynda. I don’t want anyone to think that all this just happened because I dreamed it! No! No! There was a lot of work and persistence in the accomplishment! Maybe even some luck!! 🙂

    It was the dream that challenged me to the task!! It was the support from family, friends, and people from my blog that served as the fuel!! I’m very grateful for that.

    Like

  11. Thanks, Tracy! I’m really glad you stopped by and shared this compliment! It means a lot to me! Stop by again!

    Like

  12. You keep shooting, Kuukisu! Keep believing in what you’re doing and most importantly – keep believing in YOU!!! Even if no one else believes in you (and that’s probably not the case) always believe in yourself!! This is a great comment! Thank you for sharing this encouragement!! I’m so glad you are willing to take the time to write a comment. It means so much to me! Thanks!!!

    Like

  13. WOW!!!!! Steve,That is great! I think almost all of your photos are professional quallity. I believe this is just your first one to be shown. There will be many more I believe.
    Now I can say I know this famous photographer named Steve.

    Like

  14. Congratulations on the fulfillment of this dream. There’s so much in this post to take in. I like the perspective you putting on dreaming–not frittering away our thought life, but having courage to set sail in a direction we’ve never gone before. And, it sure has proven a successfull voyage for you in this expedition. Wow.

    Like

  15. I’m not sure I would go that far, Miss Betty. But, I sure do thank you for saying it! It’s very kind of you to say such wonderful things about my photography! I really appreciate that you share your comments here. They encourage me greatly! Thank you.

    Like

  16. Congratulations! It’s a worthy shot.

    Like

  17. Hi Heather! Thank you so much for these kind words! There is a certain excitement about starting a journey. But there’s also a lot of risk. I’m thankful for people who take time to offer words of encouragement. Believe me, that’s the greatest thing about this accomplishment – the people I’ve met along the way! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your comments. They are always great!

    Like

  18. Congratulations! It’s an outstanding image, well deserving of display in the museum.

    Like

  19. Congratulations!!! I believe this will be the first of many that will be displayed in museums/galleries. Keep up the great work! Dreams certainly make life more interesting….Go Rocky!

    Like

  20. Thank you, Journey! I’m glad you stopped by today! I really appreciate it.

    Like

  21. Thank you for these kind words, Tampa! I appreciate all the encouragement I receive from all the great photographers out there. I appreciate all the encouragement from those who may not be a photographer, but know what they like! I’m humbled and grateful! Thank you.

    Like

  22. A big huge congrats to you! I love that photo, it’s truly magical.

    Like

  23. LOL! Thanks Car54!! I can hear the Rocky music in the background even now! 🙂 Thanks for the great comment!

    Like

  24. Oh, I’m so happy and excited for you!! This is such great news, and well-deserved. Take a pic of your print on the gallery wall if you get a chance. 🙂 Huge congratulations.

    Like

  25. Thanks, EE! It has become my favorite as well. I’m really excited to have this opportunity. Thanks for your encouragement and comments!

    Like

  26. Congratulations! I’m sure this is the beginning of more to come. I’m doing the “happy dance” for you. 🙂

    Like

  27. Congratulations, I am so excited for you and I agree with Emily, I am sure this is only the beginning! 😀

    Like

  28. Wow, Steve! I’m so glad for you that your work is being exhibited in such a prestigious museum! Congratulations! Having my photos exhibited is definitely one of my dreams, which will hopefully come true one day! It’s such a great way of getting recognition. I love the idea of just watching all kinds of unknown peoples’ natural reactions when they see your photos!
    I still this is an excellent photo, I’d say it was a great choice!
    I should have guessed this was a skimboard! I did actually wonder what a surfer would be doing with so few waves…
    Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

  29. How exciting!! Congratulations!! I’m doing a happy dance for you too. 🙂

    Like

  30. Thank you, Miss Pearl! You’re reading my mind! I can’t wait to see it in the exhibit and grab a shot of it! I so appreciate your congratulations! Thank you for all your comments of encouragement!!

    Like

  31. Ah! The Happy Dance!! I think we should all join in! 🙂 Thank you, Emily! The encouragement I find here is very humbling and yet overwhelming – all at the same time! You’re all so great!!

    Like

  32. Thank you, David! It was a surprise to me. I went in thinking – why not? At the very worse, they simply wouldn’t select it. I could take rejection. 🙂 But when I received the email and saw the subject line which read, “MUZEO ACCEPTANCE” I was…well, I did the happy dance several times!! Thanks for your comments, David! They bring much appreciated encouragement!

    Like

  33. Hang on to that dream, Kai! I’m living proof it can happen. Wouldn’t you love to be a fly on the wall when all the people come by to view it? I would love to be able to hear their comments! I think! 🙂 Thank you for all of your encouragement, Kai! I love your comments! And yes, the surfers congregate about 5 miles north in Newport or about 2 miles south at The Wedge. Great comment, Kai! Thanks!!

    Like

  34. Congratulations…very inspirational!

    Like

  35. Thank you so much, Sherry! I’m still excited about the selection! I’m in the process of meeting their framing standards – then delivery to the museum for display! Can’t wait to see it hanging!

    Like

  36. Congrats! Steve, I knew this photo would do you well someday. I can speak from esperience that it is a great feeling to have your work hanging where the public can view it. Keep at it and there will be more. It is still a thrill each time to me. Now go make up some prints and maybe frame a few, then enter some of you local art shows. We’ll see you in the magazines soon. I have had one magazine cover for National Wildlife Magazine. My next goal is a Playboy cover. Kidding!! But, seriously, your work is of a quality, that you will have a good future.

    Bob

    Like

  37. LOL! What a great comment, Bob! You are always cracking me up! Seriously though, I really appreciate your kind words and such encouragement! You know, I congratulate you on these achievements you mentioned here. I don’t know how long ago they may have happened – but, WOW! The things you mentioned are quite prestigious! Thanks for keeping me focused! Also everyone reading the comments…BE SURE TO CHECK OUT BOB’S CALENDARS HERE

    Like

  38. Steve,

    Since you asked, LOL, I was first published in the November 1999 issue of Photographers Forum Magazine. Then the February 2007 issue of Wild West Magazine, November 2008 issue of Texas Farm and Ranch Magazine. Recently I had a cover of the August 2010 National Wildlife Magazine. Then the book cover of Ross McSwain’s non-fiction, “See no Evil, Speak noEvil”. I currently have 17 of my framed wildlife in a showing at the local Crockett National Bank, which has bee extended thru January 2011. Some people think my stuff is good, but heck, what do they know. 🙂

    Bob

    Like

  39. Hey, Bob! I think your stuff is great!! These are amazing accomplishments. I’m glad you shared them with me! Thanks!

    Like

  40. It is obvious why this shot was chosen to be a part of the exhibit. Well done.

    Like

  41. Thank you, Erin! I’m still pinching myself to make sure this isn’t a dream! I’m glad you stopped by and posted this comment.

    Like

  42. Congratulations, Steve! I can literally FEEL your excitement! Well deserved, my friend. 🙂

    Like

  43. Thank you, Tracy! I really appreciate all the encouragement that comes my way from readers like you! You all are important to my journey!

    Like

  44. Congratulations! This is absolutely stunning photo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
