BRIDGE OVER TROUBLED WATER

This image was captured at Griffith Park in Los Angeles.  Nestled in an oasis-like field of lush green amid what is otherwise a rather desolate area, I found this bridge to be a symbolic reminder of how we often transition from one path to another.

Bridge Over Troubled Water
P. Simon, 1969

When you’re weary, feeling small
When tears are in your eyes,
I will dry them all
I’m on your side
When times get rough
And friends just can’t be found

Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down

When you’re down and out
When you’re on the street
When evening falls so hard
I will comfort you
I’ll take your part
When darkness comes
And pain is all around

Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down

Sail on silver girl
Sail on by
Your time has come to shine
All your dreams are on their way
See how they shine
When you need a friend
I’m sailing right behind

Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind

 

 

 

~ by photographyfree4all on December 5, 2010.

12 Responses to “BRIDGE OVER TROUBLED WATER”

  1. I really like this–and wouldn’t it be wonderful if every transition could be in a lush, oasis-like place in our lives? Many of our bridges are planks piled over a tumultous sea.

    But, as the song says–having a true friend is just like a bridge to get you over it all. Very thought provoking and inspiring. Thanks so much. 🙂

    Like

  2. Beautiful shot with all the green, and one of my favorite old songs. Those lyrics have always been comforting to me.

    Like

  3. I like the idea of the symbolism here, as well as the natural look of the bridge. In a way, it’s like nature has accepted a bridge through it.

    Like

  4. Nice bridge photo. I love bridges just as much as benches. Your poetic verse fits perfect here.

    Like

  5. A beautiful capture. 😉

    Like

  6. Even more metaphoric is the fact that according to the map of the area, there were beautiful bridges and flora in this area. But when I began the hike, none could be seen. You could only see the more desolate landscape. But then after almost an hour, around a corner – if you were persistent and didn’t give up – there was the beauty! Thank you for making me think even further, Heather! I really appreciate your comments – they always make me think even more! I’m so glad you stopped by and left this great comment!

    Like

  7. It is a great song, Jolene! And this was a great hike! Thank you for sharing this comment today!

    Like

  8. You’re right, Kuukisu! I love to capture a shot and apply a metaphoric or symbolic meaning to what I’ve captured. Sometimes it serves as a stunning reminder to me! Thank you for this great comment today!

    Like

  9. Thank you Cynthia! I’m glad you stopped by and shared this comment! They always encourage me!

    Like

  10. Thank you, Martina! I love bridges, but I must say – I’ll have to pay more attention to benches. Even as I think about that, it seems an interest has been picqued! Thanks for that!! I’m glad you stopped by today! Your comments are always appreciated.

    Like

  11. Interesting shot! I find bridges like this can have a lot of charm. It’s interesting to look at it in a symbolic way… There are so many meanings one could give to things like this bridge if you have the imagination!
    That’s always been one of my favorite Simon & Garfunkel songs, along with “Cecilia” and “The Boxer” of course :)!
    very inspiring post!

    Like

  12. That looks so serene and lovely! Great color. The green is amazingly vibrant, but soothing all the same. Beauty!

    Lisa

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
