THE SOUND OF SILENCE

Silence is such an interesting sound. 

A few weeks ago, I awakened very early in the morning with the intention of capturing a robust sunrise from the Huntington Beach Pier.  Making my preparations the night before, I thought this to be a spectacular idea!  Leaving a nice warm bed at 3:30 AM the next morning – well, somehow this idea had diminished in its spectacular nature!  Thankfully, the drive to the beach is a very short one – no time to fall asleep at the wheel. 

Upon parking the car, I quickly realized I was the only one around.  Yes, even the fishermen had yet to arrive.  Suddenly, I noticed it!  The sound of silence!  No traffic sounds on PCH.  No boisterous people scurrying for their beach position.  No fishermen baiting their hooks and casting their lines.  Not even a surfer hurrying to that first wave.  Even the seagulls had succumbed to the darkness.  Only silence.  I looked as far as I could see in every direction.  Nothing.  Then I stopped dead in my tracks!!!

What was that????

I began to hear something.  Faint at first, then the sounds began to increase in volume and in number.  First I heard a very faint, thump-thump.  Then I heard it again, thump-thump.  It was my heart.  I could actually hear my heart beating!    Next, I heard words – but no one was around.  They seemed audible – but they weren’t.  They were my thoughts.  I remember the first thought I heard as if it were being broadcast over a loud-speaker, “Steve…what in the world are you doing down here so early?”  Then I noticed the most beautiful sound of all.  It was the sound of the waves crashing on the shore.  That’s right!  In the darkness, you tend to forget you’re at the beach…until you hear the waves.  Incredible, I thought!  You never hear these sounds during the day!

I decided to capture a shot of the pier – you never see it so deserted!  Even Ruby’s Diner was silent.  In what could be compared to a Twilight Zone setting, I embraced the sounds of silence that morning!

~ by photographyfree4all on December 14, 2010.

26 Responses to “THE SOUND OF SILENCE”

  1. That is both an amazing photo and story. The photo is both creepy and yet peaceful… the photo radiates silence. 🙂

    Like

  2. Wonderful – isn’t it? 🙂

    Like

  3. I love the feeling of being out and searching for a shot an hour before the sunrise. Great Story, and compelling image!

    Like

  4. […] Silence is such an interesting sound.  A few weeks ago, I awakened very early in the morning with the intention of capturing a robust sunrise from the Huntington Beach Pier.  Making my preparations the night before, I thought this to be a spectacular idea!  Leaving a nice warm bed at 3:30 AM the next morning – well, somehow this idea had diminished in its spectacular nature!  Thankfully, the drive to the beach is a very short one – no time to fal … Read More […]

    Like

  5. This is one of my favorite photos of yours yet! I think its beautiful!!

    Like

  6. Lovely picture. Lovely place. Keep up the good work.

    Like

  7. It was a wonderful morning, Holly! Very fresh and invigorating! Thanks for leaving this comment. I really appreciate it!

    Like

  8. That’s right, you’re familiar with this area aren’t you, Chris? Thanks! I’m glad you stopped by today.

    Like

  9. Isn’t silence beautiful!!! Here in California we seldom hear it. I love it when it happens. I just sit and enjoy the moment because it will only last a moment in our fast paced lives.

    Beautiful shot of the pier! It looks lonesome!!

    Boy you go a long way to get a good shot, don’t you?

    Like

  10. ahhh….lovely 😉

    Like

  11. Lovely post. It’s rare to have silence in such a busy place.

    Like

  12. As I think back, it was a bit unsettling to think about how much equipment I was packing so early in the morning! But, it was also an amazing sense to listen to the sounds of the sea. Thanks, Danielle! I’m so glad you share your comments here. They’re always helpful and encourqaging!

    Like

  13. It’s so quiet during this time! I was really only there about 20 minutes before the fishermen began to make their way to the pier for their early morning catch! Thanks for sharing your comment, Nels! I really appreciate it. I hope you’ll be a frequent commentator here! I would look forward to hearing from you again!

    Like

  14. Why thank you so much for this wonderful compliment, Nell! I’m really glad you shared it. I hope you’ll consider sharing future comments, as well. I love the openness and perspective comments bring to the posts! Thanks for stopping by, today!

    Like

  15. I do go to extremes sometimes, Miss Betty! This was only one of several times I’ve gotten up before sunrise to capture an early shot! It was a rare quiet morning for us! Thanks for sharing your comments, Miss Betty! I always appreciate them.

    Like

  16. It was surreal! Thanks for stopping by and leaving this comment! I’m always glad to see your comments, Anna!

    Like

  17. It is rare…in fact, we really have to search to find these moments, Miss Pearl! Thanks for your kind words here! I’m glad you stopped by today.

    Like

  18. That’s quite an eerie shot

    Like

  19. There were moments that seemed surreal, and moments that seemed eerie, Nigel! It was indeed a mixed bag. Thanks for jumping in here with your comment! I always look forward to them.

    Like

  20. A lovely silent shot – and story 🙂 – I am lucky to live in a little town where i often in summertime sit in the evening in my garden and listen to – the sound of silence – and a car now and then – and a lot of birds singing 🙂 Family visiting from Copenhagen have often said: “Wow, how silent it is here”….

    Like

  21. Thank you for leaving your comment at my blog. Thanks putting out there a personal blog about your hope and dream with engaging stories and beautiful photographs. I think I’m falling for photography and your journey is inspiring.

    Like

  22. It’s much more difficult to find quiet here in Southern California. But if you seek it, you will find it! Great comment, Truesl! Thanks!

    Like

  23. Thank you for sharing your comment here, Loann! I’m so glad you stopped by today. I hope you’ll continue to tag along for this journey. It’s going to get even better after the first of the year! I really appreciate your comment!

    Like

  24. Another Simon and Garfunkel!
    Sorry about my lack of presence on your blog recently, I’ve been extremely busy… I should be môre regular from now on since I’m on holiday!
    It is such a beautiful moment that you’ve described here… I know exactly what you mean, I love the peaceful sound of small ripples lapping at the shore, in the dark. I find a little stroll in the darkest hour or a walk in the mountains great things to empty one’s head from all the day-to-day hubbub and remember the sounds of nature!
    Beautiful shot, I have to say, I love the sense of perspective…

    Like

  25. Hi Kai! I loved that morning – early at the beach, a bit nippy but still quietly invigorating! In all the hecticness of life, it’s easy to forget there is such a thing as peace and quiet! Thanks for sharing your comment here, Kai! And, welcome back! You’ve been missed.

    Like

  26. Oh. you gotta love Simon & Garfunkel!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
