PATIENCE PAYS OFF!!

DISCLAIMER: I did something I’ve never, ever done before – I hit the “publish” button instead of the “preview” button while drafting this post.  I was intending to sit on this post for a while because I was concerned it might seem a little too self-serving.  I didn’t want that!!  So, I apologize if this seems to be “tooting my own horn just a bit too much.”  It is not intended that way.  🙂

Several months ago I began a self-assigned photography project that I must admit has been somewhat ignored over the past few months.  It’s a project to photograph churches with the intention of distinguishing the migration of church architecture through the last century.  I began with several local churches, including one whose architecture didn’t strike me as much as their cross.  It was a cross that happened to be perfectly framed by the eucalyptus trees surrounding the church.  For weeks I would drive by this church, park, and get out to shoot this cross from several different perspectives.  Each and every time I was disappointed with the sky as a backdrop for the cross.  It was too grey.  It was too bright.  It was never blue this time of the year.  There were no clouds.

And then it happened.  Was it a miracle?  I don’t know, but it was certainly unusual!  I awakened to the clearest, blue-skied summer day in southern California history!!  And, there were even some wispy clouds hanging in the sky!  It was gorgeous!  In fact, I used this shot in one of my earlier posts.  It was a post that created quite a comment discussion about WordPress’ photo selection.

Well to make a long story short (and I don’t do that very often), when the church saw the photograph we came to an agreement that would allow them to incorporate it into all of their media publications, as well as all of their printed marketing materials!

I know it’s not a magazine or even a major publication.  But, I’m pretty excited about it!

In addition to the photograph above, another one of my photographs “The Foggy Pier” matted and framed in a 24″ x 30″ format opened yesterday in an exhibit at the MUZEO museum here in southern California.  I’m also extremely excited about that.

I feel a deep sense of gratitude to each of you.   It has been your encouraging comments and expertise that has helped me to this point and continues to help me along the way!  I look forward to future discussions where we engage each other through the photography and posts that appear in this blog.

~ by photographyfree4all on January 12, 2011.

32 Responses to “PATIENCE PAYS OFF!!”

  1. Woohoo!! Way to go, Steve!! Your persistance paid off! Good
    luck with the exhibit! I hope it sells! 🙂

    Like

  2. Nice work, and Congrats!!

    Like

  3. Great going, Steve. Success comes to those that perservere.
    Congratulations!! Bob

    Like

  4. I told you God had a plan…..Keep it up for him, and watch
    your photography really shine…..Blessings, that blessed me as
    well for you….Elena :>)

    Like

  5. Yeah! I’m happy to hear about your success. And yes, you
    worked hard for it. you should toot your own horn as loud as you
    want. 😀

    Like

  6. Congratulations Steve! I’m always happy to hear great news
    like that. I don’t think you’re tooting your horn at all. It’s very
    exciting when something like this happens and it’s nice to share
    that excitement with others. Also that cross picture is absolutely
    gorgeous! I can see why the church would like to use it. Great
    job!

    Like

  7. Congratulations! It’s always good to share good news 🙂

    Like

  8. Congratulations, Steve!! This is so exciting. Way to go! 😀 I think you should toot your own horn. You worked towards your goals and you succeeded.

    (I love the photo of the cross. It’s wonderful.)

    Like

  9. Congratulations, very exciting! I don’t think you should need the feel to apologize for “tooting” your own horn, you deserve it!

    Like

  10. Steve, congratulations on both!!! quite an achievement!! We look forward to even more good news in the future!

    Like

  11. Woo hoo! Great news times 2!! Very much deserved. Here’s to continued success. 🙂

    Like

  12. Thank you Tracy! There is also an upcoming artist reception at the museum – I’m pretty excited about that as well. My print will be on display through August! I feel very blessed! Thank you for all your encouragement along the way!

    Like

  13. Thank you, Derrick! I really owe much of this good news to you and the others who leave such encouraging comments and suggestions. It truly does motivate me to be better! Thanks!

    Like

  14. Bob, you’ve helped so much and been so encouraging – I feel like I should give you a percentage! 🙂 Thank you for always offering such great advice and taking the time to help this “rookie!”

    Like

  15. Elena, you’re comments have always been positive and helpful! I always look forward to them because they speak to my spiritual side. They challenge me and cause me to reflect all at the same time! Thank you for all your help!

    Like

  16. Thank you, Emily! I really felt a horrible numbness come over me when I realized I had clicked the “publish” button. I just didn’t want anyone to think I was saying, “Hey, look at me!” Because really I just wanted to share what had happened with all of you who have helped me along the way! Thanks for all of your comments, Emily! I look forward to our future discussions!

    Like

  17. I love the blog. Great post. It is very true, people must learn how to learn before they can learn. lol i know it sounds funny but its very true. . .

    Like

  18. Thank you for your encouragement, Michael! I know it takes time to offer your timely comments, but they are sure helping me along my way!! I really do appreciate it! Thank you for your kind words about this shot, too! It really did take about 2 months to get this shot! Another great comment, Michael! I’m looking forward to more discussions in the future!

    Like

  19. I’m so glad that’s the way you see it, Journey! I’m so grateful for your input and look forward to hearing and learning more from you in the future!! Thanks!

    Like

  20. Thank you for your kind words about the photo of the cross! When I saw the day, I knew this would be the shot I had been waiting for! Robin, your comments are always appreciated – I look forward to hearing what you are going to have to say! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and ideas! I feel I’m sharing all of this with you and everyone else who contributes to this blog by adding their comments.

    Like

  21. Thank you, David! Your comments are always great! Like I said to Robin, rather than feel like I’m tooting my own horn – I’m going to toot everyone’s horn by sharing this accomplishment with all of you! You are the ones who have encouraged me along the way! I look forward to what the future holds and the discussions we’ll have!

    Like

  22. Thank you, Michael! Your comments are always filled with expertise and encouragement! I certainly would never minimize their contribution to this accomplishment! For that, I am extremely grateful! Thank you personally for all of your ideas, suggestions, and expertise! I value it beyond what you can even imagine! Thanks!

    Like

  23. Woo Hoo, Miss Pearl!!! We did it!!! That’s right, I’ve decided to share all of this with you and everyone else who has had a part of my journey! Though it is only the beginning, I can’t believe the community of photographers who have offered their encouragement, ideas, and expertise! I thank you very much!

    Like

  24. Every time I need a pick me up, I stop by your blog and it never disappoints. Today’s blog is especially wonderful. Congratulations.

    Like

  25. CONGRATULATIONS!!! You should be proud! And no better place to “toot your own horn” than on your blog! Keep up the good work. 🙂

    Like

  26. Now this comment is priceless, Loann!! I don’t know what to say – and believe me, that’s a rarity for me! This is quite a compliment. Thank you for stopping by and sharing your comments here. It really does serve to encourage! Thank you.

    Like

  27. Thanks Linz! Your comments along are important in this journey! I hope you’ll keep them coming! Great job!

    Like

  28. Wow! You really did it!! I knew you would one of these
    days, Your photos are all spectacular – beautiful!!! We have been
    rooting you on from the beginning so we want to share in your
    accomplishments. You are not tooting your own horn you are sharing
    your joy 0 happiness with us. Thanks

    Like

  29. What a wonderful thing to say, Miss Betty! I was touched by the fact that you are rooting for me! Thank you for that!! And, thank you for your kind words here and in your other comments! I really do look forward to hearing from everyone – whether they’re a photographer or just someone who loves photographs! Great comment! Thanks, again!

    Like

  30. Whoo Hoo! Congratulations!!!

    Like

  31. Thank you, KKH! I am pretty excited about all of this!

    Like

  32. […] From the beginning until the present, I have completed dozens of self-assigned photo shoot opportunities.  Two such photo shoots have resulted in the publication of one photo and the exhibit of another. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
