HELLO! MY NAME IS STEVE – I’M A PHOTOHOLIC!!

A photoholic??  That’s not even a word!  I’m not addicted to photography!  I can stop any time I want!  But wait!  Isn’t that what all addicts say???

© 2010

Yesterday, I noticed this beautiful flower as I was leaving my office building.  I immediately reached for my camera, which was in the backpack slung over my shoulder.  (Um…you might be a photoholic if you carry your camera everywhere you go) 

NO! 

KEEP WALKING! 

DON’T EVEN SLOW DOWN TO LOOK! 

YOU HAVE HUNDREDS OF FLOWER PHOTOS! 

YOU DON’T NEED ANY MORE!

But it’s so beautiful! (that’s the inner voice every photoholic hears)

It’ll just take a minute!

OK…now, you just think I’m crazy!  🙂

Yesterday, I saw this flower – I shot it, and this is the result.  That doesn’t mean anything.  Does it?

Disclaimer: This was a re-post of a 7/8/10 publication, due to my sickness.  But, I am improving!  Better days are ahead, I’m sure!

~ by photographyfree4all on January 31, 2011.

45 Responses to “HELLO! MY NAME IS STEVE – I’M A PHOTOHOLIC!!”

  1. I’m sorry you are not feeling so good, I wish you well very soon!!

    Like

  2. I guess I am a photoholic, too. I live and sleep photography. If I’m not out shooting, I am going over old images in my computer. And, yes, I have a camera handy at all time. You never know when something will present itself that needs a photogdraphic record. You’re hooked, Steve. 🙂

    Like

  3. It means you are enjoying yourself and isn’t that what a hobby is for?

    Like

  4. Oh goodness, I have felt the same way all the time… I don’t need another plant macro shot, but it’s just too good not to pass when you see one!

    We should have a photoholic anonymous.

    Like

  5. Thank you for your well-wishes, Martina! I’m just eager to get back out there and start shooting again. Always appreciate your comments!

    Like

  6. I kind of had the feeling you might fit into this category, Bob! 🙂 I feel like the day I don’t have my camera will surely be the day I miss an amazing shot! I’m hooked!! 🙂

    Like

  7. You are exactly right, Gwyn! I don’t ever want to see that desire diminish, either! Thanks for stopping by, Gwyn!

    Like

  8. Beautiful photograph Steve! Beautiful, don’t stop!
    I practically always have my camera bag with me, which has 90% of my photographic gear in it. My tripod and monopod are almost always in the vehicle 🙂
    But I refuse to join Photoholics Anonymous!

    Like

  9. I think it must go with the territory, Santafire! Partly, I feel like I might be able to capture a better shot, more vibrant colors, a better perspective…just something that will be better than the last shot! That’s the draw for me! Thanks for stopping by Santafire! I hope you’ll stop by again, soon! Feel free to hang out here with some great photographers that have really helped me along the way! 🙂

    Like

  10. Still love the flower pic! 😉

    I went for a hike with my hiking buddy Patty yesterday and didn’t have my digital camera with me to take photos of a colorful mountain in Sedona with shadows all over it from the building clouds in the sky above. Couldn’t resist getting out the ol’ cell phone and shooting a few pics with it.

    Hope you’re feeling better today!

    Like

  11. This is absolutely stunning!!!! Love it! xx

    Like

  12. I’m with you Michael! No PA for me, either! It’s the same with me. I don’t usually carry my tripod, but it almost always in the car in case I need it. Thanks for joining in with another great comment!

    Like

  13. Thank you Melissa! I’m so glad you stopped by today! Come back as often as you like. We have some great photography discussions here!

    Like

  14. raises hand and says with a smile – count me in – i’m one too! i love this photo 🙂

    Like

  15. I think it’s one of my favorites – especially since I captured it so early in my photographic journey. What would we do without camera phones? I don’t know where to give credit, but thank you for converging the cell phone and the camera! Thanks for stopping by today, Barb! I’m not really feeling much better, although I do have times when I feel alright – like right now. I guess it must run its course. 🙂 Thanks for brightening my day with your comment!

    Like

  16. Still feeling poorly? I’m sorry to hear that. I hope you get well soon, Steve!

    Like

  17. I was sick through most of November, so I empathize. Hope you recover soon, and it is a really beautiful photo!

    Like

  18. Oh, I too am a photoholic. I have the same inner voice poking and prodding me when I notice something like this. I’m so glad you took this photo! It’s beautiful! Besides, where would the world be if there wasn’t photoholics like us? 😉

    Like

  19. Me too, great shot!!

    Like

  20. Thank you, Kristy! I’m glad you stopped by today. I jumped over to your blog today and discovered your great photography! I hope you’ll stop by often. We get into some pretty good photography discussions here! You’ re more than welcome to jump in and make a comment contribution anytime!

    Like

  21. I’m feeling much better than I was this morning, Robin! So that’s a plus! Maybe it’s all the well-wishes I’ve received from your comments! Thanks!

    Like

  22. Thank you, Jill! Your comment made me smile today! Thanks for that!

    Like

  23. I knew you were, Kuukisu! 🙂 It has become one of my favorite flower shots! Thanks for sharing your comments here, K! They’re always great!

    Like

  24. Oh, glad you’re feeling better, Scott! But, I seriously hope this doesn’t last too much longer! Although, I have a feeling the cough may be with me for a while! Thanks for stopping by today! I always appreciate your comments!

    Like

  25. Jill, your photography is great! I jumped over to your site and was reminded of your beautiful gift! Thanks for sharing your comments here! I really do appreciate it. 🙂

    Like

  26. Wow, what an amazing shot!

    Like

  27. I think being a photoholic is a good thing. 🙂

    Marla @ http://www.blueskiesphotoblog.com

    Like

  28. Thank you, Susan. I’m glad you stopped by today. I really appreciate your kind comment.

    Like

  29. I would have to agree, Maria! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by today and sharing this comment!

    Like

  30. Sorry to hear you are under the weather. Great, funny post and hello, I’m David and too am a photoholic! 😛

    Like

  31. Thanks, David! I am experiencing a very slow recovery, but it seems deliberate none the less. And, I’m grateful for that! I have to agree with Marla on this one – I don’t think it’s a bad thing! 🙂

    Like

  32. I’m glad you stopped! Its a beautiful shot!

    Like

  33. Hmmm… In my opinion, being a photoholic is probably one of the only “holicism” that’s actually good for you!… at least if it doesn’t COMPLETELY dominate your life and end up sapping your creativity!

    Like

  34. PS: I didn’t think you could have shot this yesterday since I definitely remember seing it in your older posts (you didn’t get me this time ;)!) and picking it out as a favorite!

    Like

  35. I think this was the first post of yours that I read! Sure hope you feel better. I was sick all weekend, but better now. Lots of colds and flu going around.

    Like

  36. It’s a favorite of mine, Greg! Thanks for stopping by and leaving this comment! I really appreciate it.

    Like

  37. I agree, Kai! You do need other things in your life, too! I think there’s a lot of us in this club! 🙂

    Like

  38. Good memory! I’ve been so sick, I just haven’t felt up to writing anything new. Thanks, Kai! 🙂

    Like

  39. Hi Miss Pearl! That sounds about right to me! It’s fun to create this timeline of when everyone began to find Photographyfree4all! The doctor has sent me to bed for the next 4 days! So…I continue to medicate, rest, and hopefully recover!

    Like

  40. Hello my name is Henrietta and I’m a photoholic, I have TOO much flower photos and I have to get them more:)

    Like

  41. You have some wonderful flower shots on your blog, Henrietta! I’m so glad you stopped by today and left this comment! Thank you.

    Like

  42. I’m glad you stopped! This is so beautiful…and yes it means that you took a moment to appreciate the beauty of nature. Cheers to you!!

    Like

  43. Thank you, Janice. With winter here – it seems I’ve not captured many flowers recently! But, I’ll be on the look out! Thanks!

    Like

  44. See, Steve? You’re in good company with all your fellow photoholics! I proudly claim my “holism” as well! 😉 loved the shots of San Juan Capistrano…I’ve never been there—will have to add it to my “to visit” list. Thanks for sharing and thanks for the comment on my reflection photos of Lake Land’Or a few days ago.

    Cindy

    Like

  45. I always knew I was in good company, Cindy! We’re all in the same boat! 🙂 I loved your reflections…

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
