IS THIS THE FINAL PRINT? WHO REALLY KNOWS!

We’ve talked so much about editing lately, I hesitated to post this print.  In fact, I’ve been holding on to it for a few days now for that very reason.  The goal of Photographyfree4all has been to offer a wide variety of topics about all aspects of photography.  So for that reason, I was reluctant to continue to talk about editing.  If you recall this image began with raindrop streaks in the sky, some very obvious halo effects, and color fringing along the horizon.  I’m hoping this looks better!

In my effort to be brief I decided rather than post all the different editing stages, I would simply post the final print.  Or is it the final print?

The Altar of Sacrifice - Zion National Park, Utah

 

Thanks for all of your recent comments!  Your suggestions, ideas, and oftentimes just your expression of preference helped in the final editing stages!  See, you are important!!  🙂

 

 

****************************************************************************

WHO KNEW??

There is a regulation-size half-court on which employees can play basketball…

Inside the Matterhorn at Disneyland!

WHO KNEW??

~ by photographyfree4all on March 6, 2011.

19 Responses to “IS THIS THE FINAL PRINT? WHO REALLY KNOWS!”

  1. When I click to enlarge the photo from email, I get a very HUGE version of your great photo, and in that, I still see streaks… 😉

    Like

  2. Great job Steve! This turned out really well. This looks fantastic! Now I really want to get out to Zion!

    Like

  3. great job. I like the subtlety and nuance in the processing on this one. keep up the good work!

    Like

  4. Hi Barb. I think you may be right, Barb. When I “super-sized” the image, I discovered a few streaks I had either missed or they needed a second pass. So, I’ve removed the few that I saw and uploaded a revised image. Thanks, Barb! That’s great because this may be one that I will enlarge. I’ll be sure to go over it even again before I do that, though! 🙂

    Like

  5. The image is beautiful, Steve.

    Do you have an noise reduction software? I find that really helps to smooth out the pixels. I use Nik Dfine.

    Like

  6. Bravo! Bravo! Bravo!

    Like

  7. Thanks, Michael! You really should get there! It’s a great place for photography! And, within an hour or so you also have the Grand Canyon North Rim, Bryce Canyon National Park, and of course a little further is Moab and Monument Valley! Lots to see!! Lots to shoot!! 🙂

    Like

  8. Thank you Tracy! I don’t have the software you mention. But, I may check into it. Thanks for the tip! 🙂

    Like

  9. Thank you, John! I knew this was a process you have been helping with, so I was hoping you would jump in! It’s still a work in progress, but it’s getting there. Thanks for jumping in here! 🙂

    Like

  10. I think you’ve done a remarkable job. The streaks and ghosting are gone, the foreground appears naturally shaded but there’s just enough detail for interest. Although I haven’t been there, the colour looks plausable for a beautiful morning or evening ‘golden hour’ image. It’s a beautiful image and well worth the effort.

    Like

  11. Nice job Steve, it’s been nice seeing the progression of this image! I agree with Tracy’s comment about a de-noise plug-in, it does come in handy! I haven’t used Nik’s Dfine but have used Topaz Lab’s DeNoise 5 and have been pretty happy with it so far! Cheers, I commend you for continuing to post your ongoing saga with this image. 🙂

    Like

  12. Thank you, Missusk! I do think think there is remarkable improvement from the way it was first presented here. A perfect example of a helping hand from all the comments! 🙂 Thanks for adding yours! Great job!

    Like

  13. Thank you, David! I think when you come here, you just get exactly what is happening with me – no pretenses! I will readily admit to knowing little in comparison to many of you. But thanks to all of you, I know so much more than I did even 6 months ago! I’m going to have to check out these software suggestions from you and Tracy. Do they work in conjunction with what I’m already using – Elements 8? Another great comment, David! 🙂

    Like

  14. Nik Dfine is compatible with Elements 6 through 9. You can download a free trial here: http://www.niksoftware.com/dfine/usa/entry.php

    Like

  15. Bob…Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! 🙂

    Like

  16. I think the most important thing about “the final image” is that YOU are happy with it, if anything that we have said helped you to shape the final product then we stand as minor influences. I echo Bob’s sentiment: Bravo! Bravo! Bravo!

    Like

  17. Turned out awesome! It must be a beautiful location.

    Like

  18. Thank you, Michael! I know you may think it to be minor, but to this “rookie” you guys are MAJOR! Thanks for all your help. I am closer to being happy with it, but still making a few minor tweaks! I know, there comes a time when you let it go. I’m nearly there! 🙂

    Like

  19. Thank you, Karen! I really appreciate your input! And, it is a beautiful location! I must go back in the summer. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
