GOT CLOUDS??

It’s not very often that we see clouds of this nature in southern California.  More so, I guess, in the rainy season than in the summer.  I posted a few of these shots earlier, but missed this one.

Huntington Beach Pier - Huntington Beach, California

 

 

I rarely photograph the pier during the day.  But on this day the cloud formations drew me, and I was defenseless against their beauty!

Just a quick Saturday post!

🙂

~ by photographyfree4all on March 12, 2011.

14 Responses to “GOT CLOUDS??”

  1. I like the pier and the sky. A sky with some clouds is always more interesting than pure blue.

    Like

  2. Those are really pretty! I love it when the clouds form in beautiful formations like that. I couldn’t help but photograph some clouds like that last year when I was on my way home from work one morning. They just capture you sometimes.

    Like

  3. I have waited weeks and even months for the right sky, Mike!! It makes all the difference in the world – which might explain why I don’t shoot the beach during the day. It’s usually sunny and clear! Thanks for jumping in with your comment, Mike!!

    Like

  4. I had to chuckle (having lived in the LA area) when you mentioned the rainy season. I really like the colour added by Ruby’s roof, the clouds look great! I am with Mike, sky with clouds over clear blue sky (okay, for the most part).

    Like

  5. This is a gorgeous shot, it all looks so perfect, it kind of reminds me of the animation in Toy Story. I love the reflection of the red roof on the shiny sand.

    Like

  6. Another beautiful shot, Steve. It’s amazing what clouds can add to a scene like that. 🙂

    Like

  7. You can’t forget about the sky in a landscape shot! I have to keep reminding myself of that very thing! This is the time of year that we see some interesting cloud formations, Kuukisu! In a few months, they’ll be gone for the summer! Good to hear from you, again! 🙂

    Like

  8. Well yeah, it’s kind of a rainy season, David! 🙂 But, it’s nearly over and I’ll be saying goodbye to clouds like this for the rest of the year! Thanks for jumping in here.

    Like

  9. Ruby’s red roof can literally be seen for miles and miles on a clear day!! I’m glad you stopped by, Aisling! A Toy Story comparison has to be a good thing!! I love those movies!! 🙂

    Like

  10. Great shot Steve! I really like the red reflection. I agree clouds are always beautiful. They can add a lot of drama and interest to a photograph. Sometime s if it’s a clear blue sky I try to frame a scene to include less sky, unless the blue adds to the composition.

    Like

  11. It’s so good to see you again, Robin! Thank you for posting this very nice comment! 🙂 And, you’re wearing different shoes…flip-flops! It must be getting close to summer.

    Like

  12. Just got back from Florida Steve, where I spent a lot of time in flip-flops and barefooted. 😀

    Like

  13. No doubt a wonderful break from the Ohio winter! 🙂

    Like

  14. Lovely shot Steve, I am glad you put it up after you “missed” it, it is a nice image, with lovely clouds, and I really like the reflection

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
