BIG MOON?? I’LL SHOW YOU A BIG MOON!!

It started 31 years ago as a barroom bet at Mugs Away Saloon in Laguna Niguel.  It’s come to be called the annual Mooning of the Amtrak!  Oh, wait!  That happens on July 9.  This happened on March 19.  So, all the excitement is NOT about this Laguna Niguel mooning?  Oh…everyone’s talking about the perigee moon – the largest full moon in nearly 20 years – March 1993, to be exact.  Now that’s something that will bring out the photographers!

I found it quite interesting to peruse the many blog posts concerning the “super moon!”  Yes, it was amazing!  But in reality, none of the images I viewed seemed to show a significant difference in the moon’s size or brightness.  I don’t think that’s necessarily the fault of the photographer.  It’s simply an impossible task!  Okay, the Moon is 14% bigger than usual, but can you really tell the difference?  It’s tricky. There are no rulers floating in the sky to measure lunar diameters.  Hanging high overhead with no reference points to provide a sense of scale, one full Moon can seem much like any other.

The best time to look is when the Moon is near the horizon.  That is when illusion mixes with reality to produce a truly stunning view.  For reasons not fully understood by astronomers or psychologists, low-hanging Moons look unnaturally large when they beam through trees, buildings and other foreground objects.

There really is nothing that compares to gazing at a beautiful full moon!  Wouldn’t you agree?

I’m quite certain there were some stunning images captured on this special evening. I’m just not sure one could differentiate between a perigee full moon and an apogee (which happens to be the smallest) full moon.

The Long Beach, California Skyline from the Promenade Deck of the Queen Mary

Unfortunately, our area was blanketed with a mixture of haze and clouds pretty much dampening any aspirations I had of a perigee moon photo shoot.  So, I decided to offer a substitution of this full moon captured last summer.  As you can readily see, it’s so much smaller than the perigee moon of last night.  I’m sure you already had noticed!

🙂

NOTE:  OK, now I’m playing with you even more!  This is a merging of two shots, one with the lighting and shutter speed to capture the landscape and a completely separate shot with a differing shutter speed to capture the detail of the moon.  Hey, I might fool you once in a while – but, I will always come clean…eventually!!  Some of you would have figured it out anyway!  You’re so sharp, I could never get anything past you!

I’m glad you guys are here!

🙂

~ by photographyfree4all on March 21, 2011.

3 Responses to “BIG MOON?? I’LL SHOW YOU A BIG MOON!!”

  1. It’s a beautiful photo, Steve. 🙂

    We had clear skies and, to be honest, the moon didn’t look any bigger than usual to me. I’m not sure what all the fuss was about…

    Like

  2. Great job post processing Steve, lovely image!

    Like

  3. From what I could see, it looked the same. But, we had a lot of clouds so it wasn’t easy to tell. Thanks for stopping by, Robin!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
