I CAN SEE LOS ANGELES FROM HERE!

While driving back to my office from an earlier photo shoot, I decided to travel some of the back roads.  (That’s always a great idea for a photographer!)  Surprisingly, even in the Los Angeles area there are “back” roads!  It was a road less traveled…a road that winds along its own path parallel to the freeway…a road where one could actually hear the horns honking and the tires whirring as the passing cars only steps away hurried to their important destinations.  It was a road so close to the hustle and bustle of such a large metropolitan area – and yet, so far away that with a casual glance one might have thought I had happened upon a farm deep in the midwest, perhaps even Iowa!  Sometimes, it’s a breath of fresh air to allow that casual glance to linger for a while.

And so, I did just that!  I allowed myself to be taken back to a place where time somehow magically passed at a slower than normal rate and people miraculously greeted you by name.  And, it was nice!

A Small, Lonely Red Barn

A smaller, dilapidated barn has given way to a larger, newer barn…perhaps symbolic of this small road in relation to the adjacent freeway.

The New Red Barn Proudly Oversees the Distant Older Barn

Whatever the case may be, I’m glad I found myself in this out-of-the-way place because even if only for a moment, it caused me to slow down.

Upon further exploration however, I made a rather surprising discovery.  For at the top of this bluff I was abruptly whisked back to reality with the sight of both the freeway, whose sound had only moments earlier been drowned out by the magical beauty of this displaced countryside, and the skyscrapers with their penthouses nearly touching the clouds.  And so, we now return to this massive concrete jungle we so endearingly refer to as the City of Angels!  Yes, I CAN see Los Angeles from here!

Ah…but for a moment, I was in another world!

~ by photographyfree4all on April 11, 2011.

10 Responses to “I CAN SEE LOS ANGELES FROM HERE!”

  1. Very cool. Is that pier in your header in Oceanside, Seal Beach, help me out. I know I’ve seen it.

    Like

  2. Hi Greg! Thanks for stopping by and leaving your comment/question! It is the Huntington Beach Pier. I captured it this past Saturday evening. Come on by anytime! BTW…love the food photography on your blog! Now I’m very hungry! 🙂

    Like

  3. Like

  4. Nice post, Steve. I’m glad you also have places like this close to L.A.!

    Like

  5. What an amazing place to have found in this area too…I have visited Los Angeles once five years ago and I see what you are talking about. Such a big city and still able to find a remote peaceful place like this barn….breath taking isn’t it. Thanks for the nice pictures too
    Jacqueline

    Like

  6. Nice side trip. Looks like it was well worth it.

    Like

  7. It’s a little surprising when you come upon a setting like this, Truels! But, it was nice to take a moment and explore with some captures! Good to have you back!

    Like

  8. Thank you, Jacqueline! You do have to search for these places…but, they’re here! 🙂

    Like

  9. It was worth it, #8! Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ll drop by any time…and I always love your comments! thanks! 🙂

    Like

  10. The barns coloring along side the green grass is simply beautiful and mesmerizing. I love that photo. These are some incredible shots. Great blog, I can’t wait to look at more 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
