I WOULD LIKE TO THANK…

A few weeks ago I was privileged to be the recipient, not once – but twice, of the very prestigious Versatile Blogger Award!  I do realize that some people who may be reading this post have also received this award.  However, I don’t believe that diminishes it one bit for me!  Rather, I consider it a rare privilege to be included with you!

I received one VBA from Holly Stanley.  Holly is a Mid-Michigan blogger who is relatively new to the world of photography, but like me, she’s determined to learn quickly.  And she’s doing just that!

I received another VBA from Michael Lam.  Michael blogs from Guyana, South America.  As a more seasoned photographer, Michael has a plethora of wisdom to share.

Both of these bloggers may seem familiar to you as they regularly contribute their comments to my posts, for which I am very grateful.  And, I would like to express my sincere “Thank You” to each of them for thinking of my blog when it came to this award.

In receiving this award, I am encouraged to share a few random facts to help you get to know me even better:

  • When I was 16, two high school friends and I completely restored my 1957 Ford Fairlane 500.  Little did we know less than a year later, one of those friends would be gone.
  • In my junior year of High School, I played Abner in the spring production of South Pacific.  Not a lead part (those went to the seniors), but some challenging singing and dancing none the less.
  • I was on the school golf team in my sophomore year of high school.
  • I once spent the weekend in the wilderness, sleeping under the stars and eating only what I could hunt.  Tell me…what was I thinking?  I don’t believe I’ve been hunting since!
  • Completely unknown to me at the time, I taught both of my daughters-in-law in high school.
  • I have a sister, Kathy, who is 3 years older than me and probably spoiled me even more than my mother.  And, we’re still close to this day.
  • I also have a sister, Kim, who is 15 years younger than me who nearly drove me crazy until the day I left for college.  But, we’re very close today.

I know this award may seem unimportant to many of the people in the WordPress blogosphere.  But to me, it’s a recognition from those who read my blog, look at my images, and serve to mentor and encourage me along this incredible journey.  So it is to those, I thank you very much!

  • Car54 – for all of your encouragement from the very beginning
  • Bob – for all of your wisdom and true texas “kick in the pants” grit
  • Heather – for posting the very first of 3,678 comments to date
  • Miss Betty – who always compliments my photography
  • Elena – your spiritual perspective is always refreshing
  • Kuukisu – for your detailed review of my photography, very helpful
  • Truels – for your Danish flavor
  • John – resident B&W mentor and all-around expert
  • Robin – for reminding us all the importance of footwear  🙂
  • Brian – for always making me think because your comments post from the funky slug  🙂
  • Emily – you always find the good in what I post
  • #8 – you know who you are
  • Jacqueline
  • Diane
  • Rufus
  • Michael
  • Derrick
  • Janice
  • Martina
  • Kai
  • Barb
  • Jan
  • Kristin
  • Dawn
  • Joel
  • Kay
  • Cindy
  • Tim
  • Lisa
  • David
  • Jenny
  • Karen
  • Brett
  • Carrie
  • Eric
  • Lynda
  • Chris
  • Cheryl
  • Els
  • Sapphire
  • Pany
  • Clicksey
  • Mike
  • Miss Pearl
  • Nels
  • Michael
  • Gwyn
  • Francis
  • Tracy
  • Jason
  • Elizabeth
  • Sheila
  • Beth
  • Ros
  • Bradley
  • Marla
  • Loann
  • Catherine
  • Eric
  • Lizzi
  • Journey Photography
  • Funky Slug Photography
  • Emily Gooch Photos
  • Janice Sullivan Photography
  • Photos by Martina
  • KKH Photos
  • Lime Street Studios

I know there are several others who will be unintentionally omitted by me – happens every time.  For those who may fall into that category, I’m sorry.  Leave a comment and I’ll pay a special tribute to you in a future post.

To everyone, I say “THANK YOU!”

 

~ by photographyfree4all on April 20, 2011.

28 Responses to “I WOULD LIKE TO THANK…”

  1. Happy to share the honor with you! You have been one of my biggest inspirations (I think you were the first person to ever comment on one of my posts) since I started this blog!! Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Like

  2. It’s a real pleasure viewing your GREAT photos! CONGRATS to you and keep it up! 🙂
    I had somebody contribute a beautiful photo to my photo blog today. Please do take a look: http://cornville.wordpress.com/2011/04/20/stunner-spring-photo/#comments Kathy is a dear friend, and a great artist/photographer too. 🙂

    Like

  3. It was my pleasure to share with you. I don’t consider myself a seasoned photographer, just lucky to have a friend like Nikhil who really reads a lot about photography and shares it with me, I am only too happy to pass along any insights or things I have learned myself.
    Keep up the good work and I hope to be able to contribute and learn from you. Cheers!

    Like

  4. You make me smile – nice work!

    Like

  5. Hi you are very kind…happy blogging it is always nice to stop in and see what great pictures and stories you have to show us…THANKS

    Like

  6. Congrats, and well earned!

    Like

  7. Thanks, Holly! I’m glad to be an encouragement anywhere I can!

    Like

  8. Good to see you, Barb. Great shot!

    Like

  9. Your comments are always helpful, Michael, seasoned or not! 🙂

    Like

  10. Then my work here is done, Dawn! We’ve got everyone smiling! 🙂 Thanks for your support!

    Like

  11. Love to take the pictures and spin the stories, Jacqueline! Sometimes, I just can’t stop! 🙂

    Like

  12. Thanks, Derrick! I’ve really appreciated your comments!

    Like

  13. Can’t imagine a day without a dose of photographyfree4all! Glad to share your journey with you. Looking forward to seeing where it will take you. 🙂

    Like

  14. Many Congrats to you and keep going! I love viewing your photography and I must say, you inspire me to try even more new things! Thank you!

    Like

  15. And, I can’t imagine a day without your comments. Thank you, Car54! 🙂

    Like

  16. kudos! what did you teach in high school?

    Like

  17. So glad to have you stop by, Kuukisu! It’s good that we can encourage and even inspire each other! Thank you!

    Like

  18. Hi Sheila. I taught US History, Government, and World Civ. It’s ironic because I really didn’t enjoy history when I was in high school. But when I actually began studying it, I found it fascinating and made certain that I taught it that way! It’s so much more than a bunch of dates! thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  19. Congratulations, Steve1 – from your Danish Viking-reader! (And the Vikings travelled far out in the world, you know 😉 )
    I am very inspired by reading your blog!
    I wish you a Happy Easter…..

    Like

  20. Ah, my Danish friend…your heritage of exploration has quite possibly never received its proper recognition. Thank you, Truels! And, I wish you the same – a Happy Easter!

    Like

  21. Hey, congrats! It’s a fun award to receive.
    Sorry I haven’t commented much lately–got overwhelmed by photo projects and life. Will be back more often now.

    That’s amazing about your daughters-in-law!
    Ms. Pearl

    Like

  22. Hi Miss Pearl! I’m glad you’re back! Sometimes it all can get pretty overwhelming! 🙂

    Like

  23. lol! Sometimes I go barefoot. 🙂

    Congrats on your award! It is well deserved.

    Like

  24. You make me laugh, Robin!

    Like

  25. GLAD TO BE PART OF THE GROUP, BUT IF I HAVE INSPIRED YOU, ALL GLORY AND HONOR, AND PRAISE GOES TO GOD. MAY GOD ALWAYS BLESS YOU….AS YOU HONOR HIM, YOU WILL SEE DOORS OPENED…..

    Like

  26. Thank you Elena! And, you are a part of the group! Have a wonderful Easter.

    Like

  27. Congratulations! A well deserved award!!

    Like

  28. Thank you Janice! You’re encouragement has been very helpful! I visit your blog often for tips and ideas! Your macro is amazing!! And, congrats on the Artflakes connection!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
