WHAT IN THE WORLD?? IT’S A…

While skimming through some of my shots from last summer (by the way, all the time noticing the difference between my images then and my images now) I came upon a few that certainly left a lot to be desired.  In fact, I considered them complete failures!

But with a more creative eye now, I began to look closer.  What if…I thought!!

What if I take this image and crop into a center close-up?  What will that look like?

So…I did the crop!!

Then I thought, What if I boost the color just a bit?  Will that add even more pop?

So…I did the color saturation!

So far, my edit looked like the image below.

The Cropped and Saturated Original

Then I wondered, what if I add an artistic posterization layer from PS Elements?

So…I did!!  I thought it helped to knock down the highlights and further add dimension to the abstract, so I kept it!!

And voila!!!!  My finished product…”EXPLOSION IN RED”

Explosion in Red

It’s the center of a firecracker explosion!!!

Thanks everyone!  I really loved seeing your interpretive creativity!!  Let’s do it again, sometime!!

~ by photographyfree4all on June 15, 2011.

14 Responses to “WHAT IN THE WORLD?? IT’S A…”

  1. Very cool! Your previous post inspired me to go back to some of my older shots to see what I could do with them. I just may post the “new” image soon….. 🙂

    Like

  2. Very good blog with interesting content and design!
    Best wishes
    Nick

    Like

  3. Wow Steve! I wouldn’t have guessed that! Great job keeping us in suspense. Very creative.

    Like

  4. And I was just getting ready to say the inside of an eyeball…..shoot!

    Like

  5. A giant bolldshot eyeball!! Hey, Car54…you and Bob are thinking along the same lines, I think! 🙂

    Like

  6. Good for you, Holly!! I’ll look for them!! Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  7. Hey thanks, Michael!! I thought it was fun! We’ll have to do it again sometime. Glad you stopped by today!

    Like

  8. It’s a great idea to look back on older shots. Even photos from a few months ago I look at differently as I learn new photography techniques. Great shot and thanks for the suggestion!

    Like

  9. As a non-photographer – I want to know how close were you to this firecracker! Did you know you were getting this kind of shot? I know you cropped it, but it is very clear. ?

    Like

  10. Hi Carrie. I wasn’t really that close. I was using a zoom lens. Although, the cropping seems to make it seem a lot closer than it was. No, I had no idea I was getting this shot. In fact, I had no tripod so i was very surprised I was able to get anything. But, I also must admit, I didn’t think it was a worthwhile shot until I re-visited it this week and saw the possibilities with a close-up crop. Some very good questions, Carrie! Thanks!

    Like

  11. You’re right on, Tara! This image was take last summer! I just saw it differently this time through! Thanks!

    Like

  12. I wonder how many pixels you have in that camera? I’m turning into a pixel junkie, I just want more and more so I can blow things up without losing clarity.

    what is the optimum? or is there no such thing!

    thanks.

    Like

  13. Hey, thanks Nick. And thanks for the information about your blog. I hope you’ll stop by again. 🙂

    Like

  14. I have a Canon 50D, which rates 15.1 megapixels, Jenny. I think you would be fine with anything over 10 megapixels. That should easily handle an enlargement up to 16×20. I know I’ve gone to 20×30 with my 50D without losing any detail.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
