IT WASN’T A WELCOME SIGN AFTER ALL!

Rising form the foothills of the Los Padres National Forest was a beautiful Spanish bell tower that seemed to magically draw me away from my intended journey.  I felt compelled to seek a closer look.  As a photographer, I’ve learned that even the best of plans can easily be interrupted by something we notice along the path we’ve chosen.  Such was the case on our recent trip through the Ojai valley.

Seeing this amazing structure, I immediately exited the tiny mountain road in favor of an even smaller winding road toward the structure.  Upon reaching a suitable vantage point, I stopped the car and decided to capture some early images.  My heart was racing!  I could see the road was going to meander up and around this architectural marvel.  I also noticed several walking paths that led to even greater vantage points.  I could see myself spending a few hours here capturing all of this beauty!

Wait a minute!  There’s a small van approaching my vehicle.  What’s that writing on the side?

SECURITY!!!

Uh-oh!  I quickly learned I had entered the campus of Thomas Aquinas College.  Of course I was well aware of that, but didn’t think much of it since their security gate was open.  That was the only “welcome sign” I needed to drive onto what I later discovered was a private, closed campus. 

🙂

I will say that security was kind in their explanation of how I needed to leave…immediately.  And of course, I was happy to comply!!

~ by photographyfree4all on September 26, 2011.

4 Responses to “IT WASN’T A WELCOME SIGN AFTER ALL!”

  1. Sometimes the life of a photographer, even in a not war territory, is not easy!
    robert

    Like

  2. It happens from time to time. Most of the time people are courteous. But in this day and age, people can become “freaked” by someone taking pictures.

    Like

  3. Nice photo – and exciting story 🙂

    Like

  4. Thank you Truesl. It’s good to see you on this Monday morning!! Well…it’s morning in my neck of the woods, anyway!
    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
