WHAT’S THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A GOOD PHOTOGRAPHER AND A GREAT PHOTOGRAPHER??

I remember last year quite well.  I was new to photography and very determined to capture some vibrant fall color.  I had seen all the brilliant prints from photographers that had captured such beauty, but it seemed to always be from the eastern part of the country.  Well for me, that was just out of the question – for now, anyway!  So this autumn was greeted with another serious dose of determination!!  I just knew I could discover that special stand of trees with the “WOW” factor!!

With this determination stuffed into my backpack along with my camera equipment, I headed off to the mountains east of San Diego!

The day started off with such great excitement, but we quickly realized every tree we saw was still fully green – I guess that’s why they call them evergreen!

🙂

But, we persevered!!

Wait a minute!!  Did you just see that??

Look carefully!!  As we were driving down a twisting mountain road…THERE IT WAS!!! Nearly hidden from your normal view, but there it was.  You could only catch a glimpse through the trees lining the road.  But sure enough, it was right there!

But, there was a problem!

Let me back up just a few steps and widen my camera angle for you.

Do you see the problem?

Not just a closed gate.

But a “locked” closed gate!

 

What appeared to be a magnificent stand of autumn beauty was only a few hundred yards away!!  And the only thing between me and this spectacular capture was a locked gate! Private property!

The only thing I could do was begin to move.  I was determined to try everything possible to find a perspective that would allow for a great shot – and not land me in jail for trespassing!

🙂

I moved down the road and found an adjacent property that had access.  Well, I defined it as access!  There were no locked gates and no posted trespassing signs.

But, I couldn’t get the optimum angle for maximum color.  The sun was to prevalent and washing out too much of the color.

But, that’s an easy fix!  I made another move while attaching my circular polarizer.

 

And, this is the result…

Whatever you do, always respect people’s property!  But, never give up on a shot until you have no available options remaining!

So, what’s the difference between a good photographer and a great photographer??  Well, it could be something as simple as persistence!!!

~ by photographyfree4all on October 17, 2011.

5 Responses to “WHAT’S THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A GOOD PHOTOGRAPHER AND A GREAT PHOTOGRAPHER??”

  1. It is also the difference between a snapshot and a photograph. 🙂 Great shot, Steve. 🙂

    Like

  2. The final result speaks for itself. This is stunning Steve! ~ Lynda

    Like

  3. You’re absolutely right, Bob! Thanks.

    Like

  4. Thank you, Lynda! It sure caught my eye!

    Like

  5. Brilliant! Who says southern Cal doesn’t have color..

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
