THE PATH IS SOMETIMES LONG – PART IV: Fasten Your Seat Belts

Let me just say right up front, I am not a huge fan of roller coasters!  First, you’re going very slowly.  Then you are traveling at the speed of light!  First, you go uphill.  Then, you come screaming downhill!  It’s all just a bit to unsettling for me.  And with that…my story continues.

As friends and family saw my images, the compliments began to come in.  “Steve, this is great!”  “Steve, you have really captured the essence of this setting.”  Steve, you should think about…”  I really listened to what everyone was saying, but I thought – this is family.  What else are they going to say?

Then, I started hearing the same comments from the people processing my images.  I still discounted what they were saying thinking, “Of course they’re going to be complimentary.  They want to process even more images from me.”

It wasn’t long before the blog comments started coming in.  They were extremely positive, with many coming from experienced photographers.  These were more difficult to ignore.

Because of all of that, I framed my first image.  You know…just to see what it would look like.  (All the while, I was so eager to see it that I would lose sleep the night before I was going to pick it up from the framers.)  One of those very early images:

CROSS 11X14

Even more compliments.  This time from my framer. 

Incidentally, this image came from a visit to the Old Point Loma Lighthouse just north of San Diego, CA.  As I was leaving the lighthouse, I happened upon a sign indicating Point Loma Nazarene University.  My curiosity got the better of me and as any good photographer would do, I turned onto the street to explore.  Driving through the main entrance, this was my first impression.  There, overlooking the magnificent Pacific Ocean was this solitary cross.  Actually to be completely honest, this was the view.  But, it was about 3 hours earlier.

When I saw the view, I immediately realized that I must wait for the sun to set so I could capture this magnificent sight.  I was not disappointed.

If I could return to the roller coaster image for a moment, imagine me having completed the slow uphill climb to that first apex…now cresting the peak…I begin a torrid pace where everything seems to move at the speed of light!  It is exhilarating!!!

SJC MISSION 201121210

But, hold on my friend!  The ride…and the screaming has only just begun!!

~ by photographyfree4all on June 3, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
