EVERYONE HAS A “GO TO” PLACE

If I had to choose a local favorite, my “Go To” place for landscape photography would be Huntington Beach – and more specially, the pier at sunset.

This particular image was captured about 7-8 minutes after the sun had already set.  I have come to realize some of the best sunsets do not require the sun to be in the picture.  Sure I love to capture that golden ball of fire in my images, but oftentimes there will be more vibrant color a few minutes after the sun sets.  Many times I have been one of several people taking pictures of the sunset, only to see the majority of them leave immediately after the sun disappears beneath the horizon.  If you want to capture the full spectrum of the sunset, stick around.  You will not be disappointed.

This particular shoot, I was waiting for the pier street lamps to come on.  I thought it would add interest to the image.  I’m pretty satisfied that I waited.

HUNTINGTON BEACH CORAL SUNSET

~ by photographyfree4all on April 25, 2017.

Leave a comment